Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So the way the entry for true grit reads in the codex only models with power armor get true grit, it sounds like GK terminators do not benefit from the extra attack. Am I reading that correctly?
You would not believe how many times this has been asked with no definite answer ever being reached
Easiest way to go about this ---> Anything detailed as a Grey Knight that has legs has True Grit
Reason why???? Well why the hell after using True Grit for god knows how many centuries would you suddenly forget about it just because you got some fancier armour?
The Inquisition - 38-2-3
Tomb Kings - 1-1-1
Grey Company Elves - 16-1-3
Saurons Force of the Black - 8-1-3
It's better to reign in hell than to serve in heaven
But I also think the anti-GKT True Grit reasons are perfectly reasonable too. GKTs do not forget True Grit. Its because the armor is too bulky to use storm bolters as effectively in close combat as power armored GKs. For example, if for some reason you swapped your Grand Master's termie armor for artificer/power armor, he would get True Grit again because he's in power armor.
Really though, this has been asked many times, never really reaches a conclusion, and isn't exactly that productive.
IMO the best solution until a new codex comes out: Ask your opponent or the tourney people how they view the question and go with that.
Personally I think this thread should be locked since this question never seems to get anywhere.
There is no such thing as a plea for innocence in my court. A plea for innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty.
- Inquisitor Lord Fyodor Karamazov
1. If it's that common a question, put it in the section faq at the top of this forum.
2. To be more specific, it's the line on page 8 under True Grit, "This rule only applies to Grey Knights in power armor." I just wanted to make sure I read that right.
If you are wondering why this is a question at all it is because if you download the errata it says that for true-grit see the BGB and that this replaces what is in the codex, and what is in the BGB says grey knights get true-grit with stormbolters but it doesnt say they lose it if they are in terminator armor.2. To be more specific, it's the line on page 8 under True Grit, "This rule only applies to Grey Knights in power armor." I just wanted to make sure I read that right.
As for all the people that say they would lose it fluff wise cause TDA is to bulky to use it so they are slow, then why dont they get a lower init then power armor guys and why would they still get an extra attack for 2 CC weapons. If you are fast enough to do that stuff then a stormbolter would not be a problem. If you were that slow then you wouldnt even be able to attack with normal CC weapons and hit anything that is able to move.
- You must set fire to water or you will be extinguished.
As far as I know, when they did the Dh codex, they didn't want the GKT to be too good, considering their advantages already.
The line-seems to seperate the two units, not on a rule level, but a development level. Most Imperial armies can ally these Termies, and at a time where Chaos could do godly things with Chosen, I 'spose they didn't want to set the beckmark of 'go uber or go without'. Power Armoured GK needed to be fairly represented, and True Grit limitations/Terminator/Power Armour are the only real difference between the two units.Originally Posted by Dr.Paris
After a lengthly discussion with LO Chat, we kinda came up with the conclusion thatSo after much consideration, I myself would stick with the Codex, even if Lyzaru makes an excellent point on the errataOriginally Posted by Crazy Chat People, Jaffar, SWAT and MikeTehFox
LO RULESOriginally Posted by Jaffar_Hasad
Do a search next time before creating a thread.
After about 5 seconds of searching I found this thread ... which seems to be about 8pages of fun.
I think it comes down to the question... DO you feel like you are cheating by blatantly going against the codex and following a comment on the BGB..
I would love to have an extra attack but can't as I would feel like i'm being dishonest.
Much must be risked in war.
Blood Angel Stormraven Conversion Work In Progress.
Right, so to summarize the "for" and "against" arguments for GKTs with TG from the last thread:
The Daemonhunters FAQ from GW states that we should "refer to the Universal Special Rules section of the revised Warhammer 40,000 rulebook" where the term True Grit appears. Hence the entire entry below the True Grit heading in the codex (where it states that only Power Armoured Grey Knights receive True Grit) is replaced by the rulebook entry. In the rulebook, it states that Grey Knights may use a stormbolter instead of the standard bolter for true grit. Since it doesn't distinguish between Power Armoured and Tactical Dreadnought Armoured, all Grey Knight units receive True Grit.
While the FAQ states that we should refer to the rulebook for the mechanics of the True Grit rule, the limitations on who receives the rule are not themselves part of the rule. Consequently, we should use the codex to distinguish who actually has the rule, and the rulebook entry for how the rule operates. Thus Grey Knights in Terminator Armour don't benefit from True Grit.
Take your pick .
I used to be entirely on the 'Power Armour only' side, but after looking at the (rather circuitous) side a bit more closely and then using my own 'logic':C, I am leaning more to the all Grey Knights with Storm Bolters get it. Logically to me a PAGK who becomes a Terminator through promotion would not lose this ability, even though Terminator armour is a bit more unwieldy, he has gained even more skill.
It really is an unanswered question and I see and respect both sides, so I don't look askew on someone picking either side. It is up to you, the people play with and your conscience as to what you play until a more specific FAQ comes out.
"A love for tradition has never weakened a nation, indeed it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril."
Sir Winston Churchil