PAGK w/ Chaplain ally - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    LO Zealot Guthbrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,043
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x3)

    PAGK w/ Chaplain ally

    Hey, quick qusetion. Lets say I take a few grey knights as allies with my space marines. Can a SM Chaplain join their squad during the course of play and do they gain the benefit from a SM chaplain if he joins their squad (specifically the litanies of hate)?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    qsd
    qsd is offline
    Archmagos qsd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Luna
    Posts
    904
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    69 (x2)

    Yes
    As an independent character, he can join the squad. In fact, I believe he could even start the game joined to them if you wanted to.
    There is no such thing as a plea for innocence in my court. A plea for innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty.
    - Inquisitor Lord Fyodor Karamazov

  4. #3
    The Orange Grey Knight MiketehFox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x8)

    Sorry, the wording of the rule only allows it to apply to SM squads.

    Mike

  5. #4
    qsd
    qsd is offline
    Archmagos qsd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Luna
    Posts
    904
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    69 (x2)

    Yeah, Mike is right. It only affects SM units.

    Now before anyone tries to start the "But aren't GKs Space Marines" thing,
    For all gaming purposes:
    Grey Knights are Daemonhunters units
    Space Marines units are those from Codex SM, DA, BT, etc.
    There is no such thing as a plea for innocence in my court. A plea for innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty.
    - Inquisitor Lord Fyodor Karamazov

  6. #5
    The Orange Grey Knight MiketehFox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x8)

    Actually, for gaming Purposes, Grey Knights Are Grey Knights, as per page 20 of the DH Codex.

    Mike

  7. #6
    I am a free man! number6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Village
    Posts
    4,941
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    786 (x8)

    Grey Knights don't need no stupid Chaplains to encourage them. They always hit on the first try. 0:
    ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
    RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014

  8. #7
    LO's Resident Time Lord Canew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New England, USA
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,270
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    457 (x8)

    Yeah, Grey Knights and Deathwatch, despite the SM stock that the fluff says they come from, are chamber militants of their respective arms of the Inquisition. Thus, from a rules perspective, they are NOT Space Marines.

    Note that this allows you to have Deathwatch in your GK-heavy armies if you want to, if you insist on having GK and SM models in the same army :party2:
    Mickey: "You're just making this up as you go along!"
    The Doctor: "Yuuuup. But I do it brilliantly!"

    Check out my WIP thread here (Clicky!)

    The rules (Clicky!) Read 'em, know 'em, love 'em.

    Peace, through superior firepower.

  9. #8
    LO Zealot Guthbrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,043
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x3)

    ya, that's what I thought, thanks. The power gamer in me was rearing its ugly head >.<

  10. #9
    PP is my master now... Hasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles (unfortunately)
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,213
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    135 (x4)

    On a similar subject, what do you all think about GKTs and the Imperial Fist special character's special rule for Teleport Attacks? That's the one where you only make a single reserves roll for "all Terminators in the army" if I recall the quote correctly. I wasn't sure whether GKTs would count as being a part of that or not.

    Thoughts?

    -H
    Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
    -George Orwell

    www.drmcninja.com
    If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!

  11. #10
    The Orange Grey Knight MiketehFox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x8)

    I'd still say it falls under what I said before, GKTs are Classified as Grey Knights, and not 'Terminators' as the SM codex refers too.

    But I'm not rules lawyer, so I could be wrong.

    Mike

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

  1. January 17th, 2008, 19:21

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts