Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
if you use an IG armored company you can take chimera(without squads) as a fast attack choice.............................so if you ally with daemonhunters and take 2 full terminator squads can they ride the chimera
if you look in the DH codex it tells you an inquisitor in termi armor takes 2 spaces and can fit in a chimera.................so why would a GK termi not be able two?
the reason im complaining is a friend did not believe i could do this so we called GW and i do not believe him because he said it would be too big but if and inq with termi can why cant regular termies? i think he just wanted to get rid of us or did not know the rules or something because the codex contradicts that
I would say you can't do it, not because of the size of the terminators but because the chimera is not an empty vehicle: It's a dedicated transport for the armoured fist squad so they are the only ones allowed to ride in it.
The only way I can think of to get Grey Knight termies into a transport is to take a land raider as a heavy suport choice, which means you have to have a DH or SM base list.
I would still say no, however; that's just finding some way to get around the fact that in their parent list, Grey Knights can't ride in Chimeras. I'd stick with that. I'm not a fan of finding ways around limitations that are potentially not legal.
I think that if the Gray Knight Terminators wanted a ride, they'd just order down something worthy from a flying holy spaceship. Not come to the guards asking...
"We demand a ride!"
"Oh, well we've got this Chimera, it's just like the one Inquisitor Ravenshmock has"
"I'll just have someone tuck all them tools, dirtymags, and potentially illegal drugs from it, Mr Grandmaster"
"Master, there's chewingum on my seat..."
"Someone hand brother Mortificatius a purityseal"
"Daemons are all around us sir!"
"All Brothers to your battle stations, make them...lasguns? hurt... oh, never mind."
Well, if you want to get all RAW about it. An Armoured Company is not an Imperial Guard Army, it's.... an Armoured Company. It's possible my memory has failed me, but I don't recall Armoured Company being one of the armies that's listed in the Inquisition Codices as being allowed to take allies in the first place.
Why on earth you would want to put Terminators into one of those rolling coffins I couldn't begin to guess anyway. That just *screams* "obstruct my one and only exit door with a Vyper or bike and get 250 free VPS!"
Last edited by qsd; March 5th, 2008 at 06:30.
There is no such thing as a plea for innocence in my court. A plea for innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty.
- Inquisitor Lord Fyodor Karamazov
the reason i want to is if you look at the armored company list on the gamesworkshop site you can take a NON- dedicated chimera as a fast attack it saysReconnaissance SectionUnit Size:One vehicle.Options:The Reconnaissance Section consists of one of the following vehicles bought from the
vehicle inventory: Chimera, Hellhound, or Salamander Scout Vehicle
(copied and pasted from GW website) in the armored company on their site
the reason i wanted to is in a game with a friend i had an armored company with terrain on the left and had most of my tanks on the right and the 2 suprise chimeras and a hellhound on the left.................needless to say when the 2 chimeras drove over the terrain and dropped 12 terminators he screamed and started complaining and refused to continue the game(btw my tanks were devastaging him before that anyway they barely missed)
I don't think there's really any question that terminators can ride in Chimeras if you can get them into it. The Chimera entry in the AC list even makes a note that Terminators take two slots!
That description does create the subsequent question, how did the Terminators get into the Chimeras in a way that he didn't know about? Elites deploy before Fast Attack in standard scenarios.
I'm still somewhat skeptical of calling AC a 'variant of the imperial guard.' Either way, in the world of "official" rules the list is deprecated, the only rules that matter are what two players agree to. Obviously the guy you were playing with does not agree with something! If he thinks your army isn't any fun to play against, all the proof in the world that it's technically legal can't force him to play a game.
Of course he refused to continue play with you, now if that's your goal then fine.
As far as I know it did break "The Most Important Rule" (rulebook p 5).
It's about how to behave while playing the game fair to make it enjoyable for both players.
Maybe you should read it and ponder your behaviour.
"Oh, look at me I am the twister of rules. So frowned upon so nobody wishes to play this game with me, behold my ever powerful army of doom, rulebending and... loneliness."
But if you like the game and to have a good time with other people while playing it...well then you might want to change your perspective a little.