Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Have any of you ever had any trouble justifying that FAGK can make use of the teleport Homer? The reason I ask is because someone pulled me up on it in a game the other day.
Their reasoning as to why I couldn't use it to bring down my FAGK Squad was that due to GW stating that newer Codexes take preference over older ones, so in this case the SM Codex, and the TH description says that only 'Terminators' can use it, so not any teleporting GK's.
To me this is one more case that Rules-Lawyers ruin the game, and commonsense is ill-advised in the 40K universe.
I usually walk ALL my GK's anyway, so it didn't create a drama, but still....
I believe that this could be an issue in Tournaments also, as the Organizers would probably
run with this interpretation as well.
What is your take on this?
Well, anywho, I'm currently reading the SM codex right now, and unless I have an older version or something of that sort, it states that "...the homer only works for squads that are teleporting, not for squads entering play using jump packs, drop pods or other means of transport." (25) This seems to imply that individuals in power armor capable of teleportation (Such as Grey Knights or Death Watch) are capable of also taking advantage of the Teleport homer.
It does state earlier "If Terminators wish to teleport..." (25) But it does say IF Terminators, which seems to me to imply that terminators are not the only ones who may benefit from this. Now, if it were to say "Only Terminators that wish to teleport..." Then I would say differently, but it does not.
Thus, I would say that your Grey Knights should still be capable of benefiting from the teleport homer, but that's just me.
If you wanted to argue it further you could say that Grey Knight Terminators cannot benefit from the teleport homer, for they are not Terminators but Grey Knight Terminators, and it could go on and on. But, in my opinion this sort of interpretation of the rules really just ruins the game.
TL;DR: Ignore the guy, ALL teleporting Grey Knights (Grey Knights can't deep strike any other way after all) should be capable of benefiting from the teleport homer.
Last edited by Sayomi Akimoto; March 13th, 2008 at 04:31.
the SM Codex has NO effect what so ever on the deamonhunter codex so next time he says that laugh in his face and tell him LTP.
Social Engineering Specialist: Cause theres no patch for human stupidity
Yeah, thats a silly thing to say.
I've been in 3 tournaments and never had a problem like this come up. Funnily enough, most of the people say "GreyKnights.. their the deepstriking space marines with strength 6 ay???"
His rules sounds like an old one before GreyKnights were around, when the only imperial solider to deep strike were terminators.
Much must be risked in war.
Blood Angel Stormraven Conversion Work In Progress.
As for the guy I played, I did tell him He was wrong but didn't push it any further as I walked my FAGK anyway. I was just wondering if it had come up in any of your games.
it is the DH codex, that u may move PAGK-s to FAGK-s, and by that, they can talaport
so what was he talking about?
i totaly agree with sayomi.
If an opponent tells you a rule that is new to you or challenges your version of the rule, you can always ask him to show you this rule in the said codex.
When the rule is confirmed by the text, everyone is happy. Its the best way to learn about these things.
If he cannot produce the text to prove the rule, then the rule in your own codex should be applied.
It's worth a krak!
Just to clafify....this thread isn't about me 'letting someone pull the wool over my eyes', it's about the fact that there are some Gamers out there who categorically say that FAGK can't use Homers because they aren't Terminators, and some DH players actually agree with this.
Also, if we go by the SM Codex for things like AssCans, PotMS for our LR's, etc. then surely we can't choose to use those Stats because they're better, but choose not to use the Homer rules because they say that FAGK can't use it.
I've read what other DH players on several other Forums have said about this, and there are quite a few who go strictly by the DH Codex on everything, regardless if it handicaps them or not. Some cherry-pick all the good stuff from the SM Codex, but stay within the DH
Codex if it suits them.
Also, on a different Thread there is mention of the International Tournament Guidelines which state DH stuff uses the SM Codex rules/stats on all these contentious issues, but the only one I can see is the PotMS issue.
This whole issue is a huge mess, but there are some DH players out there who help muddy the waters even more, albeit unintentionally.
It's a ludicrous situation, and the major fault lies at GW's feet, and only they can rectify it...but most of us know this already.
Or, put it another way, I buy bionics for my imperial guard army. My demonhunter opponent says i should use his bionics. then a witch hunter opponent turns up and says we're all wrong, until i realise the demonhunters player has marine allies, and their codex is more recent than all of ours, and we use that. (they're all different mechanics but called the same)
Or, you use the one you paid the points from referred to in the codex you used it in
That's why Grey Knights Land Raiders are missing an assault cannon.
edit - that was careless, should have read diddlysquat
Last edited by stayscrunchyinmilk; March 19th, 2008 at 17:13.
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065