Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, I've been playing my Librarian for a while now but my last game brought up a bit of confusion as to some of the rules surrounding combat and powers.
My question is this: If a librarian uses an area effect power like Fear of the Darkness or Fury of the Ancients which doesn't specifically target any enemy squad, can he then assault an enemy squad?
Usually I would say that since he didn't target a squad he can assault any squad within range. However my friend says that since he did shoot but not at a specific squad it's treated as if a squad was completely wiped out and therefore he can't assault at all.
Any of you guys have an opinion on this?
People who don't know how to use artillery are using artillery, and that scares me. -TacJack
Bring out the Bikes!
That's like saying I hit two squads with my flamer...oh crap now I can't assault. I don't have my rule book on me but I am quite certain if you don't target a squad you can assault. This being Fury of the Ancients and Fear of the Darkness as you stated. However with Storm of the Emperor's Wrath and Vortex of Doom you can't as you are specifically targetting a squad and can only charge that squad.
"The only hatred any man should hone, is hatred against himself for not being able to serve the Emperor to his full extent. This is the hatred he should unleash upon the enemy, and in doing so, the Emperor will protect."
Master Lucius, Chapter Master of the Noble Templars
But I would have to say that you can assualt any squad that you hit with your powers. It just wouldn't make any sence if you can't assualt someone after useing an area effect power and not be able to assualt. Ofcouse unless the power is treated as a heavy weapon.
All religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, greed, imagination and poetry.
- Edgar Allen Poe
You can assault whoever you bloody well want. you're freind is mistaken and seems to be rules doctoring.
the wording itself may not be 100 percent clear but the intent is. You can assault whoever you want.
as they have already said you can charge any squad in range if you didnt use a power that targets a certain on a different or the rules say you can charge after using it (heavy)