Rough Riders and hunting lances - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member Kantoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Under your bed; or in your closet.
    Posts
    667
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    78 (x2)

    Rough Riders and hunting lances

    I did a couple of searches on this forum and couldn't find anything, so I assume this topic hasn't been made yet.

    I have a question for Imperial Guard players regarding the rules for hunting lances
    and the IG faq version 4.

    In the codex, the rules for the hunting lances include the following (page 46):
    "A model using a hunting lance cannot use an additional close combat weapon but
    adds +2 to its Strength and Initiative when charging."

    Then, in the faq, the following is written:
    "Horses steer themselves, so Rough Riders gain the normal +1 Attack bonus from
    additional close combat weapons."

    So, what does that make the amount of hunting lance attacks when the Rough riders
    charge? Can they still not use an additional close combat weapon because of the lance
    or do they refer to the bike rules and now say that they can use an additional weapon?

    ------------------------------------
    Innovation suffuses this hobby like a tea bag in the boiling water of play.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Abraham Lincoln's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Age
    31
    Posts
    907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    64 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Kantoken View Post
    In the codex, the rules for the hunting lances include the following (page 46):
    "A model using a hunting lance cannot use an additional close combat weapon but
    adds +2 to its Strength and Initiative when charging."

    Then, in the faq, the following is written:
    "Horses steer themselves, so Rough Riders gain the normal +1 Attack bonus from
    additional close combat weapons."

    So, what does that make the amount of hunting lance attacks when the Rough riders
    charge? Can they still not use an additional close combat weapon because of the lance
    or do they refer to the bike rules and now say that they can use an additional weapon?
    The codex quote means that if you are using a hunting lance, you cannot gain +1A for an additional ccw. so, if you are using a lance, you can only get +1A for charging (if you charge), and NEVER the additional +1A for also having another ccw. (this is slightly disappointing, but hey, a charge with hunting lances is still COMPLETELY devastating to a unit of MEQ's, even without the bonus ccw A)

    The FAQ quote is clarifying that this limit Only applies to hunting lances - so, if you had a unit of rough riders with a laspistol and ccw, they WOULD gain the +1A for an additional ccw - it is only the hunting lance that doesn't allow you to gain the +1.
    Armies:
    Tyranids: 2500 pts
    Imperial Guard: 1000 pts
    Witch Hunters: 1000 pts

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Swansea, and Blackpool, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    457
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    79 (x1)

    Just back up really, the wording can be confusing sometimes, but the lance rules over ride those of the mount.

    Seconded good sir.
    Inquistion force WIP. Pics on posts 17 and 23.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Kantoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Under your bed; or in your closet.
    Posts
    667
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    78 (x2)

    Thanks 'Abraham Lincoln', for clearing that up.

    I thought the same, but my opponent at a tourney was convinced he would get an
    extra attack.

    I will get this info to him :happy:
    ------------------------------------
    Innovation suffuses this hobby like a tea bag in the boiling water of play.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts