Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was just wondering, do the IG Heavy Weapon Crews (Like the autocannons, lascannons, and mortars) count as artillery or normal infantry?
What do you mean by counting as artillery or normal infantry?
For all intents and purposes they are regular infantry formed into squads that carry heavy weapons - all the normal rules apply for troops carrying heavy weapons (i.e. can't move and shoot etc).
Dovie'andi se tovya sagain (It's time to roll the dice)- Mattrim Cauthon
They count as regular infantry. You do not need to roll to see what takes the wound when a template is placed and you can kill the loaders before you have to take out any of the gunners. And if anyne gets close enough you can still ahve the extra guys in the squad fire their lasguns.
Do you mean they come on as reserves in escalation?
If so, they start on the table as they are classified as basic infantry with no dedicated transport. Unless you give them a chimera with the mechanised doctrine.
"Hard pounding, gentlemen: but we shall see who can pound the longest."
Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington
I think what you really want to know is whether or not you have to roll if you hit the gun or not. The answer is no. It's not mentionned anywhere in the codex that heavy weapons count as artillery. As far as I know, only ork big gunz and eldar platforms count as artillery.
You can check out page 264 in the rule book. It gives all the unit types for each army.
Last edited by MaxDv; May 20th, 2008 at 04:59.
Imperial Guard: 3000 pts
Chaos Daemons: 1000 pts