Welcome to Librarium Online!
I've just converted one for my Orks and was wondering if anyone had used one or if people had opinions about them. Any good strategies with them?
The 60 inch minimum firing distance is very annoying to me, because that is a large chunk of the battlefield (if not most of it) unless you toss the thing off to one corner. With the laser so far away, buildings and other terrain are likely to obstruct LOS. A
lso, the additional bolters and autocannons seem wierd on it, but I guess they're just for taking out close units that the laser cannot target?
In an apoc game last week or so, it wrecked one of the players ENTIRE army!
But thats what you have to do, put it in the back and shoot shoot shoot
Thousand Bows (SM)
We played an Apoc game a few weeks ago, where we set up a smaller table about 15inches from the main table. It was only accessible by Deep Striking troops. On it was the Defense laser and the Emperors Wrath Artillery Battery (forget it's name right now). Defense laser was pretty good. Took out almost all the things it actually hit.
BUT it's real power came from it's other special effect (the potential to counter Orbital Bombardemetn, Scheduled Bombardment etc). That alone can really through the opponent out. It's a fun thing to play with, and didn't cost a heap of money to make - I made mine for about R120 in total - that's about 7 pounds / 15 US $.
Evan GotteWargaming since 1992Wargames are like Chess on Steroids
Yes, the ork converted one I just made was quite cheap and homemade- consisting largely of a shoe box, 2 pop cans, half a soda bottle, a quaker oats canister, and a good deal of cardboard.
Question: how does a defense laser treat a drive damaged result? The rules expressly state that it is immobile and that it treats driver stunned as gun crew shaken, but says nothing about drive damaged. Technically the drive damaged result reduces movement by half, but the laser has no movement, unless it has implied movement of zero... so is the result that that zero is halved, or is it already considered immobilised (so the result would count as weapon destroyed, which really sucks for the d-laser)? I'm guessing the second result is the correct analysis, but wonder what yall think or if there are rules/faq about this somewhere?
I remember seeing an awsome conversion once. I will find the link.
Another question in additions to the last one posed:
Does the defence laser roll to hit or does it hit automatically and then scatter? That'd be kind of silly if sometimes it did a huge 10 inch blast and others it just "missed' and didn't hit anything...
And do destroyer hits use the ordnance damage table?
So many questions.
Hey all, I hate to double-post, but I still have all these (previously posted) questions about how to use this thing in battles... any help would be greatly welcomed. Thanks!
According to the SH rules (p. 93 of the Apoc book) if a vehicle is already immobalized and suffers a 'Drive Damaged' result it is upgraded to 'Weapon Destroyed'.
As to how its hits are resolved, it is a Ordinance weapon and so its shots are resolved the same as all Ordinance weapons (rolling for scatter).
Edit: In regards to which damage table is used with Destroyer weapons the rules to not note any change in this due to a weapon having a Strength of D, so I would reason that you use whichever table you normally would for that weapon type (Ordinance weapons use the Ordinance penetration table, all others use the normal one).
Last edited by Vesper; April 11th, 2008 at 05:42.
Thanks, those answers help