Summer League - New to WH40k - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Summer League - New to WH40k

Pretty new to WH. Son (Tau player) and I have been playing for a couple of months now. Have been in a couple of tournaments and playing pickup up games on Friday nights (along with warmachine). However, still find my troop/tactic choices to be lacking. guess that comes with experience. Question. The first league game of the summer starts in a month or so. I would like to be better prepared. I generally play a codex SM army (usually using cleanse and purify/have pride in your colors) The guidelines for the first match follow. Would greatly appreciate any advice. Will be facing primarily other SM armies, along with Tau, Ork and Eldar (pretty equal mix).

I currently own:

3 squads of tactical SM (10 man, 2 melta or 2 plasma usually)
    1 assault squad (currently only 5-man - going to bulk up to 9)
    1 dreadnought (more on the way)
    4 termies
    1 chaplain with jump pack
    1 rhino

Here are the match guidelines.

500PT max
    no special characters
    no ordinance
    no models with 2+ wounds
    no 2+ saves
    max 1 vehicle that cannot exceed 150 points with all wargear/upgrades
    number of cities of death strategems: 1 per player.
    1 hq max (not required)
    1 elite max (not required)

Questions: special characters for SM refers to Lysander, etc, right?

I am not familiar with cities of death strategems.. gotta look into this (any ideas?).