Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Thanks for the response and apologies for not posting this in a rules section.
Can a heavy weapons team of 2 guardsmen shoot both their lasguns and the heavy weapon.
If someone can clairify the rule, or point me toward a codex or rule book page number that would be great.
I have a group of 3 heavy bolter teams and I am shooting at a model within 24" of all my models. In the shooting phase I shoot all my heavy bolters (9shots) and then decide to shoot "all" my lasguns (6shots).
Firing Heavy Bolters and and lasguns (9 heavy bolter shots and 3 lasgun shots) because the Guardsmen who fired Heavy Bolters CANNOT fire 2 weapons.
Firing just lasguns (6shots)...for some reason.
I'm pretty sure Scenario 1 is against the rules and that the other two are legit, but I always tend to get in arguements with another player over different rules and would like to have this one clairified.
This one seemed pretty simple to me, but because they carry two weapons he thinks they should be able to fire both.
Last edited by Enjoi_Tyranids; April 14th, 2008 at 17:49.
Scenario two, mate. The loaders count as another guardsmen. 40k Errata, IG Q&A:
Q. Could you explain at least the right interpretation of the big base for the
HW team guys? Can the second guy in team fire his lasrifle when the other
fires his heavy weapon? Do you count all the big base for the purpose of
the team being hit by templates, or do you have to mount your guards on
standard small bases to be sure who is in harm? If the "base" containing
the two guys is killed once, do you remove the two guards?
A. Treat them as two separate models that are based together for convenience of
Not sure of the exact page, but I'm fairly certain that under the shooting rules in the BGB it states, quite clearly, that a model may only shoot with one weapon per turn.
Dovie'andi se tovya sagain (It's time to roll the dice)- Mattrim Cauthon
So the loaders CAN fire their lasgun, but the gunners themselves fire EITHER the heavy weapon or their lasgun.
So scenarios 2&3 yes, 1 no.
The name refers to facial hair, not playing style.Originally Posted by A news vendor's stand, London, June 1940
Spot on weirdy.
One pencil stab isn't dangerous, 20 000 pencil stabs are. Although the one pencil that hits you in the eye...
In that case, you can fire 3 heavy weapons and 3 lasguns if the squad doesn't move, just 3 lasguns if it does.
On a side note, since the models are based together for convenience, and are actually supposed to represent two models, you don't necessarily have to remove whole bases. (i.e. you can take 3 casualties before removing a firer instead of two.) I magnetized my loaders so I can remove them first to represent this.
Are you absolutely sure that the guardsman carrying the heavy weapon even has a lasgun? I feel like he replaces his lasgun for a heavy weapon, kind of how units replace their regular armaments for special weapons. Is there a specific errata that you could point me to clear that up.
To clarify (for their equipment): it does not say replace their lasgun (some entries however do, read on a codex entry-by-entry wording. this can differ in the same codex.)
for a real tickler on this subject: where does it say how many hands are needed for a heavy weapon? Not in that codex or the main rulebook that i can find.
(P.S. The HW teams in question aren't restrected to one 1x handed and two 2x handed weapon - that only appies when stated (normally if you can equip them from an armoury)
some people will certainly disagree - if it gets into this again please put it onto the rules query forum (and add a link to this one if you want)
P.S. the HW bases are officially movement trays - please see the IG FAQ. with a bit of niggling you can have the men removeable, and on their own base for measuring range, charging, blasts etc.
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
In house when moving I let neither fire - they both have their hands full with the disassembled heavy weapon plus ammo etc.
Once set up the gunner fires the heavy weapon and the loader loads would be my take, although I suppose the loader might pick up a lasgun to defend the weapon against anyone who got close enough?
Only an idiot fights a war on two fronts. Only the heir to the throne of the kingdom of idiots would fight a war on twelve fronts.
This isn't only a rules forum issue because it's not clearly written in the codex and relates specifically to IG. It's fair to argue it under either forum. The thing about one or two hands isn't relevant. That pertains to ICs and those that have access to war gear. In ever other codex a model says the model replaces their current weapon with their new heavy weapon. (so a CSM Havoc replaces his bolter for a heavy bolter, a tau replaces his pulse rifle for a pulse carbine, etc.) The guys who wrote the IG codex did a very poor job of thinking about the rules for the weapons bases. It should say replace. (A counter argument you could make is the rules regarding the new eldar anti-grave platforms with guardians, but I feel that's like comparing apples and oranges in some ways.) You can argue on a technicality they keep the lasgun, but I think in the spirit of the rules (as opposed to the letter of the rules) this is incorrect.
That's a good way to look at the bases as movement trays instead of a single base.
Last edited by Dr. Paris; April 14th, 2008 at 18:47.