Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hello everyone. Recently at a game at my local hobby store i watched with glee as my 6 missel launchers rocketed forth from their chimeras and decimated the dark eldar players ravagers and raiders. He then told me that what i did was illegal and promptly started a huge debate about the subject. Now i just want to know, is the Top Hatch rule still legal for the armageddon steel legion or do i now have to base my army off the imperial guard codex?
Um.. next time you see him show him page 45 in the Chimera Profile read him the rule "Fire Points" your top hatch rule is in there. In a nut shell as long as you left your Chimeras opened toped for shooting afterwards what you did was legal.
If you do things right people wont be sure if you have done anything at all.
Codex: Armageddon is not longer a valid rules set, and as such may not be used.
So the big question is back to you GMAleron, is what you did illegal? (and why didn't you just consult the rule book?)
Yeah, what other people have said.
The steel legion specific rules are no longer valid.
However, chimeras as standard have a hatch from which you can fire one weapon.
You must still take into account the movement of the vehicle when firing from this hatch, so no moving and firing of heavy weapons. Although, moving and rapid firing a plasma gun is fair game
Also, unless all occupants of the vehicle have 3+ amour saves or better, if you use the hatch the vehicle counts as open topped during your opponents next turn.
Just summarising the relevant info!
(Yes this does mean that a chimera can technically pump out 12 lasguns shots, 2 plasma shots, 3 mulitlaser shots, 3 heavy bolter shots, and 3 heavy stubber shots on the move for a total of 23 shots per turn. Nice )
"Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"
Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.
Well if the chimera rules stay the same in the steel legion codex (wich i expect) and you explained to your opponet that you where using a non tournament legal list, then it should be legal (unless you moved)
If you did not tell your opponet you where using a non tournament legal list, then he/she could call you out on that, but that would also be partly their fault as they didint raise any objections beforehand
In my opinon, if your opponet agress to a list (even if not tournament legal) then all rules apply, you cant say 3rd edition orks dont get the special rules for their choppas just because 4th edition orks dont have them
"Thank him who puts me loath to this revenge on you who wrong me not for him who wrongd"
Question about the lasguns on the Chimeras.
What is the fire arc for those things?
Can they target separate targets than the Chimera?
Can all 6 shoot at the same target, 3 are pointed 1 way and 3 are pointed another?
I don't think I've even ever bothered to shoot the lasguns since i never understood the rules.
The lasguns on the chimera (the way we worked it out) can only fire on the side they are on so have a 180 fire arc down the side of the tank. As for the lasguns firing seperately from the vehicle as far as I remember the squad in the vehicle does not have to target the same thing as the vehicle.
In a nutshell, yes the squad shooting the lasguns can shoot at something else IMO as they are not the vehicles weapons when crewed.
Hope that helps
Why would anyone bother to shoot 3 lasguns at something?
Takka n' Wakka's Dakka Attacka! 33W / 6L / 1D
Making them very useless.
The only thing the transported troops can fire at independantly is the one weapon from the fire point.
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065