Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
With the Deamon Hunter's Codex out, there seems to be confusion about the assassins. In the DH codex, you can only brin along an imperial assassin IF you have an Inquisitor Lord. Do the assassins now fall under ONLY this codex?
Can any Guard or Marine chapter have an assassin in there ranks with out having an Inquisitor? I say yes, but some others say no. Can anyone help?
The Codex DH supercedes Codex Assassin. To use an assassin, you *must* use an Inquisitor. On the plus side, you can field an Inquisitor from any of the Ordo's (so you can have a Daemonhunter Inq, a Witchhunter Inq, or in about a year, an Alienhunter Inq).
but regardless of how many Inquisitors, or force organization chartes you have you may only have ONE officio Assassinorum. Death cults are open game for bringing as many as you wan't but only ONE of the others no matter what. There is no exception. No situation that doesn't fall into this. ONe assassin only, period.
just thought I would make that clear to any one about to ask as a result of reading this thread.
I just had a battle last night where my opponent was using a Vermicore(sp?) assassin guy with the Exitus Rifle. I asked him if he had to have an Inquisitor in the army to have an assassin and he says no. I have heard people go both ways on this issue. So does it say that in the Deamonhunters codex?
<span style='color:purple'>3rd Company Raven Guard Space Marines-</span><span style='color:red'>in surgery</span>
<span style='color:green'>512th Cadian Orbital Defence-</span><span style='color:orange'>under construction</span>
<a href='http://www.bungie.net/Stats/PlayerStats.aspx?player=Redhawk%2011' target='_blank'>Xbox Live Stats</a>
Check the Rules Clarification section of GW. It explains it in there.
Mooing peacefully since 1996!
<a href='http://www.adeptusminneapolis.com' target='_blank'>Adeptus Minneapolis</a>
YOU MUST HAVE AN INQ. LOD PERIOD. Doesn't anybody ever think of checking the GW website?
Vindicare is the sniper dude, just so you knowI just had a battle last night where my opponent was using a Vermicore(sp?) assassin guy with the Exitus RifleNot going to do word for word, but like everyone here has said infinite times, YOU NEED TO HAVE AN INQUISITOR OR INQUISITOR LORD IN YOUR ARMY TO FIELD AN ASSASSIN OF ANY KIND.I asked him if he had to have an Inquisitor in the army to have an assassin and he says no. I have heard people go both ways on this issue.
-Your opponent was either a dick and attempting to screw you over, or ignorant and still using the really really old Codex: Assassins. THE CODEX ASSASSINS IS NOT LEGAL ANYMORE. The only way to use assassins is to use them according to the Daemonhunters/Witchhunters/Alienhunters books. THATS IT.
-You cannot mix and match officio assassinorum operatives (vindicare, culexus, calidus, eversor) in an army. NOT EVEN IF YOU USE CLEVER FOC MANIPULATION. NEVER.
-Oh yea, and in case I wasn't clear before, YOU NEED TO HAVE AN INQUISITOR OR INQUISITOR LORD IN YOUR ARMY TO FIELD AN ASSASSIN OF ANY KIND. NO EXCEPTIONS. EVER.
The GW website posts all of this information in the FAQs. And if you look around this board, the Daemonhunters board, and the SoB board, you'll find a ton of threads where people ask if you can do this or that with assassins, and every single one has a score of angry people posting exactly what I posted here.
inquisitor or inquisitor lord, this does allow the fact that almost any imperial army can have an assassin now.
Live life Dangerously
<a href='http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/194529' target='_blank'>http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/194529</a>
According to the old rules, I don't believe you needed an Inquisitor to field an assasin. However, with the release of the DH codex and the new rules coming out this fall you need an inquisitor to field an assasin. Now my question is which inquisitor would be the best to get?
if all they try to do is get the assasin, and don't intend to use the inquisiter very much, it won't matter until they start getting wargear and psyking powers.