Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
There is a BT player around our local area that is obstinate that they cannot ally with WH or DH (with the exception of grey knights as per the rule) because of their "abhor the witch" rule.
Now, it states you cannot ally with any model with psychic powers or any army that has a model with psychic powers.
It does NOT say that you cannot fight along side a "psyker" (i.e. any model with access to psychic powers) period. It also does NOT say you cannot ally with an army that has a psyker in its army list. By my line of thinking, you can ally with an inquisitor, as long as he takes no psychic powers. You can also ally with say, Witch Hunters, as long as you don't physically take a model with psychic powers.
He disagrees with me. So I'm looking for a second opinion.
If it worked as he sees it, you could not take any model that is a "psyker" (i.e. any model with access to psychic powers), nor could you ally with any army (DH/WH), because they happen to have "psykers" in the army list. Despite not physically taking the model.
So.. sorry Mr. Inquisitor Lord (with no psychic powers) despite your supreme authority from the Lords of Terra, you cannot fight alongside the Black Templars.
Well, if your Black Templars joined my Blood Angels in battle, I would simply leave my Librarians at home and we're all fine to be allies.
"Fear not and look up to the sky for salvation, for we have entered orbit."
Blood Angels 2nd Grail Guard Company
If I am not mistaken BTs can still ally with WH and DH as long as they don't take a unit that is a Psyker. I get a feeling and I might be wrong that although you buy Psychic powers for Inquisitors they still might be considered a psychic...
That being said that still means that a BT army can have SoBs as allies and Gks I think?
There is nothing more annoying when your Wyches with Plasma Grenades get "Always strikes First" for their combat drugs!
The only allies they may not take are inquisitors, but it specifically says that grey knights are fine. SOB are fine so are inquisitorial storm troopers
My armies are studly!
Hyrulian Knights 7/3/1
Take the fight to them
Have faith is suspician
(><) This is Bunny. Copy Bunny and this message into your signature to help him on his way to world Domination!
That is a tough one. the RAW implies that any army with psychers is off limits, ALL SM chapters with libbys and even their founding chapter the Imp Fists. However I would be inclined to allow the use of any ally with no psychers in the list. Makes more sense to me. If he is so adamante about it I would try to negociate with him. All else if you have other oponente play elsewhere. I can see his argument but I agree with you.