Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
i know that a power fist is also a pwr wpn, but im curious if you can have a pwr fist on a captain, and say that its just a pwr wpn? example, i love the look of the pwr fist, and decided to put one on my hq, but probly not the best wpn to put onto a guy that can be singled out in combat, and taken out, so can i say that its just a pwr wpn? abiding by all the rules of a pwr wpn, or is that no ok to do?
If you're playing in a friendly situation (as all games should be ) and you tell your opponent about it before the game and they're happy with it, no probs!
In all other situations though, like tournaments etc, not so much....
(IE: There's a reason for WYSIWYG or 'what you see is what you get', which is that it helps avoid any unjustified advantage over your opponent. If your character is not charged by an opponents wraithlord because he's concerned about a powerfist you don't actually have, its just a little bit dodgy).
Last edited by Cadaver Junkie; June 11th, 2008 at 06:20. Reason: bad grammar. Or is it grammer? No, I think its grammar...gramma? Grandma? Oh man, apparent I use a bad grandma...Not cool.
"Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"
Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.
It's a bit of a grey area... To the best of my knowledge there's no officially set form for a power weapon to take, it's just almost always portrayed as a bladed weapon with techy bits attached, so that's its unofficial form. So while some sort of power gauntlet is certainly possible, it's not what is traditionally thought of as a power weapon.
On the other hand, the description of a Powerfist has always been pretty clear - great big hydraulically boosted fist with a power field, or some sort of variation on that basic concept (Orky power klaws, for example).
So while some sort of power gauntlet is technically allowable as a power weapon, WYSIWYG combined with the historical conventions on how certain weapons "should" look tends to call it a Powerfist from other players perspectives. In a friendly game with an explanation beforehand it shouldn't be a problem since pretty much all the players worth playing should readily accept bending the rules a little for stylistic purposes (IMHO, of course...), but in terms of a Tournament or other somewhat competitive setting, the potential for confusion is a definite concern. (see Cadaver Junkie's Wraithlord example)
If you have some units with actual power fists in your army, then you're on dodgy ground.
However, if all of the powerfists in your army are actually supposed to be power weapons, then I'd say it's fine.
Just tell your opponent and give him doughnuts, and he should be fine with it.
LO RulesOriginally Posted by AnonymousOriginally Posted by Cyric
" ... is a Power Weapon ... "
it doesn't imply that the PF is a triple-threat weapon -
Power Fists have only two modes: PF or CCW. Power on or off.
There's no middle position that skirts the Init malus.
Counts-as PW is fine if *all* PFs are PWs.
But normally, that's a big no-no.
Like the others said, it is arguable, but as long as you specify that it is just a power weapon, and you make sure that you play it only as a power weapon, then in friendly games it shouldn't be a problem.
But tournaments and official games, would most likely be different.
Hey! Look at the little.... Oh ****!
Well if everything else is in order and you paid for a power weapon for your HQ then there shouldn't be a problem, just point out the unit and show him your army list where it says it's a power weapon.
Only the biggest baby would whine after that.
"Luck often enough, will save a man, if his courage hold".
You either choose to attack with weapon A or weapon B. So if your guy had a Powerfist and Bolt Pistol, you either use the fist and your attacks are all PF hits with an extra attack due to the pistol (2nd CCW), or you attack with the pistol and your attacks are all normal with an extra due to the PF (2nd CCW). in the second case, your PF is counting as a plain CCW, because you're attacking with your other weapon. In effect, you've switched it off and you're just backhanding your opponent with it or something - very handy if you need to hit at initiative instead of waiting for the fist.