Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If you make a heavy weapon as part of your guard troop choice won't that unit have to stay within two inches of that heavy weapon, so in essence then they can't move?
"When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
A heavy weapon team for IG is just the same as a heavy weapon in, say, a marine tactical squad in all respects but one - your opponent has to kill both the gunner and the loader to get rid of it.
You CAN move the squad (any and/or all members in the squad, including the heavy weapons team ), and yes, they all have to be in unit coherency, but if you do so the gun cannot fire. If you do not move the squad, the heavy weapon can fire.
Other than that, I'm not so sure what you actually mean by the question - perhaps you should peruse the main 40K rulebook with regards to units and weapon types (Eg: Heavy, assault, and rapid fire), and also re-read the IG codex? And also: make sure you have a copy of the current codex.
Hope this helps!
"Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"
Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.