SM Vet Squad opinions - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    77 (x2)

SM Vet Squad opinions

Hello all!

Firstly, I'd just like to say although this is my first post here, i have actually been milling around LO for months, and only recently decided to register as some questions have cropped up that I havenít found yet.

My first (and possibly hardest) question is about Veteran squads.

As a bit of background, Iíve played around 7 games so far, each around 1500points and all against SM/CSM. Before i started playing, I got a little excited by the metal veteran squads that you can get from GW. So excited in fact, that I bought both sets (10 men total). The two sets contain the following men (for those that have not checked them out!)

vet with Lightning Claws (pair)
    vet with Power Fist & Bolt Pistol
    vet with Power Axe & Bolt Pistol
    vet with Chainsword and Bolt Pistol (in MkVI armor)
    vet with Chainsword and Bolt Pistol
    vet with Lightning Claw and Bolt Pistol
    vet with Power Sword and Plasma Pistol
    vet with Power Fist & Bolt Pistol
    vet with Power Axe and Plasma Pistol
    vet with Bolter (thatís right, all that CC power from 9 men, and one guy with a bolter!)

Scanning the rules, it appears that, in order to allow anyone other than the sergeant to take weapons from the armory, the sergent must take termie honors which allows the other marines to take termie honors too (+15points for serg, +10 for every other marine), meaning the cost for most of those power weapons technically doubled!