Psycannon: "no invulrable saves" = no cover saves? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    boo
    boo is offline
    Senior Member boo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Glasgow
    Age
    27
    Posts
    261
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

    Psycannon: "no invulrable saves" = no cover saves?

    Yo
    so i was playing this Grey Knight player with my grots, which make use of
    kustom force field (giving 5+ cover saves), however he said that psycannon
    ignore cover saves due to the silly wording
    "no invulrable saves are allowed, only armour saves"

    i took this to mean "no invulrable saves"
    he took it as "only armour saves" so no cover either

    while incinerators say "no invulrable or cover saves"

    so yeah. what do you think? cover saves VS psycannons allowed?

    (had a look in forum, couldn't see a previous post)

    ty in advance


    Grots/SoB/CSP/AWN/DE

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    Cover saves are not Invulnerable saves, so you get them against an Psycannon.

  4. #3
    Member Memnarch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    you get cover saves, it mentions the rules for psycannons twice in the codex, in one of them in explicitly states that you get cover saves.
    I just wanted an avatar that was different.....

  5. #4
    I am a free man! number6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Village
    Posts
    4,941
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    786 (x8)

    Yep, I'm afraid the GK player was cheating. Even if you're willing to abuse the language of the psycannon as shown in the armoury (though you should compare that language with that for the incinerator), the weapons summary sheet clearly shows that psycannons only ignore invulnerable saves (again, in clear distinction from the incinerator).
    ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
    RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014

  6. #5
    PP is my master now... Hasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles (unfortunately)
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,213
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    135 (x4)

    Yeah, it's an unfortunate bit of wording in the Psycannon entry. Check the Daemonhunters' summary, though, and compare the Psycannon entry with the Incinerator entry. The Incinerator specifically says "No Invulnerable or cover saves" whereas the Psycannon just says "Ignores Invulnerable saves". It's pretty clear how they operate from that.

    [edit: Darn you, number 6! One step ahead of me. By hook or by crook, I'll beat you one of these days =P]

    -H
    Last edited by Hasten; July 2nd, 2008 at 17:24.
    Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
    -George Orwell

    www.drmcninja.com
    If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!

  7. #6
    Nightlord frozencore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,795
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    255 (x6)

    Well the psycannon entry says "Only armor saves are allowed," but he was obviously twisting GWs lack of proper editing to his advantage.

  8. #7
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    People who do that annoy me. Many things say simply ''no saves allowed'' but this is only referring to armour saves. Yet another prime example of why RAW is not a good thing.

  9. #8
    boo
    boo is offline
    Senior Member boo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Glasgow
    Age
    27
    Posts
    261
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

    ty ya'll & thanks for the proving reference

    Grots/SoB/CSP/AWN/DE

  10. #9
    Member GhostSock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    ON THE MOON!
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Tell 'im he's dreamin'!
    This thread is unclean brothers! PURGE IT WITH FLAME!

  11. #10
    Member WAAAGHAKI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Reading, PA
    Age
    44
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    44 (x1)

    Actually, you're Daemonhunter friend can't even claim he was playing RAW. The last two versions of the DH FAQ explicitly states that Psycannons do not ignore cover saves.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts