Welcome to Librarium Online!
We had our first 5e game today (IG and SM vs CSM) and rolled anihalation. We killed a lot of units on either side but had a significant question left unanswered by the new rulebook:
By a unit being "completely destroyed", does that mean the transport also has to be destroyed? Our opponent had 2 CSM units with Rhinos - we killed the infantry but the rhinos survived. Does that mean we get a kill point, or do we have to kill the rhino as well? Or is the infantry squad worth 1 kill point, and the transport another?
Anyone got any ideas on this?
Tell me if I'm wrong, but the rules say transports are worth the same as the unit they are selected with.
I imagine that means that a chimera that came with an armored fist squad is worth the same number of points as the squad and a chimera that came with my hq is worth more?
Your chimera is one kill point, your squad is another, two kill points is both are destroyed. If you blow up the chimera, and don't destroy the squad, that's one Kill Point and vica versa. Vehicles cannot be scoring, so your chimera isn't scoring, though it can contest an objective and prevent the other opponent from claiming it..
At first blush this would seem like a punishment, unless you read the new rules for how dedicated transports function. First, any unit can ride in a dedicated transport once the game has started. So, for example, you could drop off a squad of vets that the transport was dedicated to, pick up some guard, and drop them somewhere else. If you have a squad you want to give a transport to, but can't purchase it (like a special weapons squad), that squad can still hop into another transport once the game has started. Note that the squad the transport is dedicated to does not have to deploy in the transport. You can just have an empty transport waiting to pick up another squad.
Second, regardless whether the vehicle was wrecked, explodes, was moving fast, squads are NOT entangled anymore. They do have to take a pinning test still. So now you don't have to worry about losing a transport and having your squad be sitting ducks for the next turn.
The same also being true for the enemy. This change is more a drawback for us overall than a benefit.Second, regardless whether the vehicle was wrecked, explodes, was moving fast, squads are NOT entangled anymore. They do have to take a pinning test still. So now you don't have to worry about losing a transport and having your squad be sitting ducks for the next turn.
... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..