Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Whilst playing as SoB today, I came across an interesting problem.
I had two invulnerable cannonness's attached to a squad of 10 Seraphim (I didn't want them joined, I just couldn't separate them in time...) and they were only attached by reason of within 2" of the unit. My opponent charged in and finished off the Seraphim using excessive amounts of power weapons, leaving my two cannonesses alone, and needing a 2 for leadership tests which they subsequently failed...
I realise now, that I could have (as long as they were within 2") attached them to each other, creating that all powerful multiple IC unit, which although a little cheesy, would have meant I would not have suffered from such an excessive leadership modifier (a book of st lucis could have helped as well!!).. but, and this is where my question comes in.
If you have a multi character unit, do you take the act of faith tests based on unit size? Which means, you have fearless, invulnerable, +2 initiative units for no rolling(dice rolls equal to or over the unit size).
One of my favourite tactics in 4th Ed, was to run the JP Canoness in with the Seraphim (but not attached too) and then hit and run with the sera's leaving my canoness to normally bog / chew through said unit, while the Seras ran off to play with someone else, or charge back in. This idea, although a little points heavy (and a little cheesy) will basically do the same thing, but would mean that you would never fail that damnable invul AoF.
If it's CC, IC's always count as a separate unit.
And over there we have the labyrinth guards.
One always lies, one always tells the truth, and one stabs people who ask tricky questions.
For shooting and wounds in CC, yes, but a lost combat would mean that an attached IC also needs to fall back and such. You really need your BoSL on those models though... I assume that if you join two of them together, they test on the size of the new unit (2) as the rules say the she test on the Ld value if she is not attached to any other models...
@ OP: isn't the rule that you have to declare them to be joining the unit for them to become a part of it? you can't just move them within 2" and not declare them to be a part of it.
feel free to correct me if i am wrong on any of this.
then i must ask, what is the point of attaching an IC to a unit at all? for CC purposes, they act as a seperate unit, how can a seperate unit share its Ld with another unit? Thanks for the correction tho. I'll admit when I am wrong. Still seems odd, but ciest la vie.
edit: Pardon me, I'm mistaken. Independent Characters are, indeed, treated as their own unit for only a part of close combat. According to the 5th edition rulebook, they count as their own unit when fighting, so must be in base to base contact and may be targeted separately, however after all attacks have been resolved, they are once again treated as a normal member of the unit. So, they do fall prey to the unit morale rules. Fancy that.
Even if she had never been attached to the squad and ran in completely solo, she'd still have to test at -10 when the other squad gets wiped out. It's a multiple combat, everyone is subject to the same combat resolution. See p41.
Real moral of the story: never trick yourself into thinking you're saving points by leaving the best 5pt wargear in the entire history of WarHammer at home.
As far as the actual question, sure, you could join them together and do that if you wanted. You've also made it utterly impossible to do +2 Str, which is an extremely important skill against certain opponents, so, it's a tradeoff.
I've since rewritten that list to include one BoSL on each cannoness, I agree that it is one of the best bits of wargear, and have never needed it in the past for the Canonesses, hence my mistake.
Although I will agree that the +2 Strength is vital (damnable avatar!), and this 'opportunity' is a niche opportunity, I think it is one more good thing to keep in the back of the minds of SoB players.
Plus, the reason that I couldn't get the Seraphims out was, no hit and run with attached independant characters without the HaR rule. A terrible oversight when I threw them all into CC together.