Can you fire a heavy weapon from a chimera's top fire port? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    416
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Can you fire a heavy weapon from a chimera's top fire port?

    Just the idea of a chimera with a big lascannon perched on top is amusing.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Treadhead with a Chainaxe Kaiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Varberg, Sweden
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,805
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    238 (x6)

    Yes, assuming the chimera hasn't moved or used it's smoke launchers that turn.
    #lochat, irc.quakenet.org
    World Eaters, Kaiser Style < Old thread. No ressurecting!
    Late War Schwere Panzerkompanie, Kaiser Style < Don't ressurect this either.

  4. #3
    Armored Cav Addict Zeewulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Minnesoooooota
    Posts
    993
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    208 (x4)

    But don't forget; if you do fire that thing from the top, you suffer of the 'open-topped' modifiers for the next round.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    994
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -3 (x0)

    could you add an armoured crew compartment, to stop it becoming open topped?

  6. #5
    Armored Cav Addict Zeewulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Minnesoooooota
    Posts
    993
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    208 (x4)

    No, Enclosed Crew Compartment has no effect on the Chimera; normally, it is a standard closed vehicle, but to fire, the gun crews actually have to open the back hatches.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Dr. Paris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Age
    32
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    141 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by kommissar karls kadians View Post
    could you add an armoured crew compartment, to stop it becoming open topped?
    In 4th, if your passengers had a 3+ save or better, passengers could fire out of a vehicle without counting it as open topped. I think 5th has kept that. Since the best IG can have is 4+, it will always be open topped. Armored crew compartment just changes the classification on vehicles from open topped to closes, but does not override the transport rules.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

    Although it's not the answer to the original question, one thing I am looking forwards to trying with the new rules is using a Chimera as a Special Weapon Squad carrier. With a couple of Grenade Launchers / Meltas and a Demo charge in there it's got quite a bite to it.

    The other option I find amusing but am not sure is worth doing. Stick a AT Support Squad with Lascannons in it (or similiar) and use it as armour while firing 2 of them. Sure it'll be open topped, but if they are using AT against that they aren't firing it at your Leman Russ / Hellhounds / Sentinels etc.

  9. #8
    Armored Cav Addict Zeewulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Minnesoooooota
    Posts
    993
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    208 (x4)

    Ooh! Drive by! Plasma Drive by! Rocket launcher driveby! Although I think only one can fire out the top.

  10. #9
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeewulf View Post
    Ooh! Drive by! Plasma Drive by! Rocket launcher driveby! Although I think only one can fire out the top.
    Can't have a "rocket launcher driveby," because Missile Launchers are Heavy weapons, so if the Chimera moves at all you can't fire the weapon. Also pretty positive that you'll only be able to rapid fire the Plasma, by the same logic.

  11. #10
    Armored Cav Addict Zeewulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Minnesoooooota
    Posts
    993
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    208 (x4)

    I was thinking about that with the rockets....but hey, drive by with 3 plasma guns rapid firing is not what you would call 'gentle!'

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts