Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does sharpshooters have any impact on firing mortars? It does not seem so by reading the rules but perhaps there is an obscure rule or FAQ that I am not aware of. Mortar Squads and normal platoons with mortars in them can take the doctrine but it doesnt seem like there is any benefit for the mortar roll.
I am pretty sure that this is black and white, but still wanted to throw it out there and see if anyone knew any different.
"No dumb bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. You win a war by making the other dumb bastard die for his country." General George S. Patton, Jr.
I wouldn't think so since sharpshooter only affects "Roll to hit" with BS. Mortar teams don't use there BS (Unless you consider the scatter modifier).
At least, if sharpshooter did affect mortar teams, I wouldn't know how.
Imperial Guard: 3000 pts
Chaos Daemons: 1000 pts
Nope, no matter how you read the rules sharpshooters will not work with Mortars.
The reason? Sharpshooters allows a reroll when a model with a BS of 3 or less rolls a 1 on to hit. There is no 'to hit' roll for mortars, simply a scatter roll.
I would have to disagree, in the 5th edition rule book pg 30 it states how rerolls work for blast weapons (which barrage weapons follow but with exceptions)
Obviously the reroll to hit on a 1 makes no sense in this case.
It could be if you get a 1 on the scatter dice I don't know
I might write like a ork but i fight like a poet.
Some one tell me they have ever seen a nightbringer die from a Nemesis Force Weapon.
No way jose. Mortars don't use BS...but good thought though.
This applies to page 30 since sharpshooters only applies to a 1 and there isn't a one on the scatter die.
Where the heck did all them guardsmen come from?
Great Wolf! Is that the howl of the 13th?