Outflanking with platoons? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    416
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Outflanking with platoons?

    Say you have a platoon that takes light infantry, and they outflank. Now, they roll for their reserves roll as if they were one unit. But do they roll to see what side they show up on as one unit? Logically it'd seem like if they come in at the same time it'd be together on the same side of the table, but God knows logic is a poor way to determine the rules.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member mareo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    43
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

    Hmm... personally I think that outflanking is for sentinels. If I have light infantry, I try to deploy them inside buildings or take cover on the terrain. These way I can take advanced positions in or closer to the objetives and/or chose the better defensive positions for the infantry in place of just fill the deployment zone with half the guys in the open.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    416
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Yeah, outflanking is usually for sentinels, but outflanking a tau player would be devastating for him if he's close enough to the edge.

  5. #4
    Armored Cav Addict Zeewulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Minnesoooooota
    Posts
    993
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    208 (x4)

    As far as I understand things, you roll for each and every unit in the platoon. So the Command squad, the individual squads all require a roll each. Same goes for the reserve rolls.
    So basically, you have to roll for each squad for both reserves and then roll again for the outflank. Never the platoon as a whole, ever.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    416
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    No, it specifically says that they are "rolled for collectively when rolling for reserves", so they don't roll for each unit for their reserves roll. Just dunno if that applies to where they're outflanking from too.

  7. #6
    Armored Cav Addict Zeewulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Minnesoooooota
    Posts
    993
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    208 (x4)

    Ahh, I forgot about that bit. It's been awhile since I looked at the codex.

    The rules state at this time, however, that you roll for each unit that's outflanking, so, until we get a codex that says otherwise, we're stuck there.

  8. #7
    Senior Member omegoku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cork, Ireland
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    216 (x7)

    Codex specific rules overrule Rulebook rules.
    So you roll once for platoon and deploy then roll once for table edge.
    That is how I would read it.
    Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
    I currently play:
    Doom Eagle Space Marines
    Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
    Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
    Tau of O'me
    Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters

    and my attempted foray into fantasy
    'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff

  9. #8
    Senior Member SilentNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    357
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    It clearly states in the codex that a single platoon is rolled for as a single reserve unit. Now if you deep strike them, you make one reserves roll, then you can split them up and roll individually for each piece of the unit. Now with Outflanking you make one reserve roll, as the codex clearly states, and then you make one outflank roll for the entire unit. One platoon equals one unit.
    "When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."




+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts