Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm considering giving my Brother-Captain the Holocaust power. In the DH codex it says it may be used in my assault phase, at an effective int of 1. In the new DH FAQ it says Holocaust follows the shooting rules.
I'm hoping my BC can shoot then assault as normal then use holocaust at int 1
I have very little experience using psychic powers because of a hyper fear of perils of the warp but I was thinking of giving it a try. Please advise/help clarify and point out what book/faq it comes from or just your game xp.
update: I found a post that I missed that had several people saying that Holocaust was in addition to reg cc attacks, but there was still some contention about whether he needed to be in base to base if he is attached to a squad (not with a retinue) to use power as he would need to be to cc as normal.
Last edited by nedroj; August 10th, 2008 at 06:14. Reason: typo
I believe the reason they brought in that bit in the FAQ was purely to clear up the question "do you need to be IN assault to use the Holocaust power"
Basically, you use it in the assault phase (meaning you can shoot something else in the shooting phase) and you don't need to be in c/c with someone to use it BUT if you are it is done at initiative 1.
But does it happen IN ADDITION to your normal CC attacks? I think that is the original question. Or at least part of it.
My understanding, and reasoning for wanting too choose it (but never having the left over points) has been because i suspect it works like this:
Movement happens as normal.
Shooting happens as normal.
Assault, you do your assault phase, and attack as normal, then all other non-I1 attacks happen, then the holocaust happens....
All together, that is MASSIVE destruction potential for about 265... bulk up the unit a bit more, and add two psycannons and it is 366....
366 for a 6 man unit, with 2+ armour saves, inv saves, some amazing fire power, and almost unequalled by units of the same price with hand to hand fighting abilities... PLUS a pie template at end of combat... OMG THAT IS DAMAGE!
The only thing that has prevented me from ever testing it, is that I don't like cheating, or playing with rules that are by far, easily questionable, so i play it that whatever is more fair, is the true rule, thus it is either you use your CC attacks, or the holocaust, but NOT both in melee contact.
I may be wrong, but i guess it all depends.
Maybe someone could shed some speculation on this for us.
a lot of people poopoo stern but u can use his holocaust without fear knowing you can reroll a dice...
just a thought
that reroll is also usefull for his deepstriking ...(if your opp doesnt kick up a huge fuss and start crying) and a million other things
We know that models that are involved in assaults can attack normally (subject to the standard assault rules), and we know that psychic powers do not prevent models from attacking normally in assaults unless they specify otherwise (hammerhand, for instance, is expressly designed for use in close combat, as are a number of other psychic powers). Thus, unless the holocaust power specifies that it replaces close combat attacks, or prevents them, it is used in addition to standard close combat attacks.
Which makes it an excellent power =).
The other half of the question is "can you use it if you're not in base-to-base contact" which is a bit stickier. I'm inclined to say "yes" since it doesn't specify that base-to-base contact is needed in the power's text. Then again, if he's not in base-to-base contact, the power becomes much more difficult to use without hitting your own men, so I don't know how useful a situation like that is.
Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!
Under the new rules holocaust had become a bit broken. Mainly due to the pile in like move at the beginning of combat and how templates hit everything that it touches. Its very much worth taking on a GM, brother captain less so, as you generally want him to sit back and shoot.
Me, Ambivalent? Well, yes and no.
nice to have something go our way
This last weekend I had someone telling me that my BC was automatically hit by his own Holocaust power because you have to touch the template to his base.
I felt he was being ridiculous but I allowed a roll off, luckily I won.
Have you guys come across this?