Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
To all you folks with Imperial Armor 1, I was wondering if any of you use the special shells the book mentions?
In addition, how do your opponents react when your Demolisher fires an anti-tank shell at their land raiders or your advancing platoon gets a cover save from a basilisk launched smoke shell? Do they usually let you use the rules, or say nay?
I was curious, since I was looking over the rules for them, and I thought that they greatly improve the utility of our tanks, but simultaneously I thought that other armies might consider them to be too overpowered. After all, Forgeworld has a tendency of unleashing incredibly overpowered, under priced units...
If the general consensus is that they're a fair addition to the Leman Russ and her variants, next time I have a game I'll ask my opponent if I can use them.
I always though forgeworld's units were often overpriced. A vanquisher costs more points than a russ with AT shells for instance.
Some IA rules can be disgusting though. E.G. Griffon inferno shells - the only thing i just won't permit. Instant and immediate fallback without any LD test, even if it's immune to it? Why don't you use 2-3 griffons and force a unit off the board per turn? Disgusting things. worse than the lash/plasma cannon disgrace.
P.S. it's common sense that if you have 2x LR's with shells they roll up seperately and can swap shells between them.
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
But I agree, any normal IG force using the inferno shells is a bit over the top. The othe ammo however (if used with ALL the rules, as you say Stayscrunchyinmilk) will add extra flavour to the game without being overly powerfull.
It is rare that we use the extra rules in the gaming group I play with, but in more special scenarios they are allowed. Generally my opponents say no, when the rules state, that you must have the opponents permission (conservative and boring bunch they are in that way)