Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can a Tech Priest attempt to repair a Chimera whil he's inside of it?
"When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."
I'd allow it in a friendly game, but in a tournament, he has to be in base contact, and if he's not on the board because he's in a chimera then he's not in base contact.
The codex doesn't say it has to be in base to base contact, it says touch.
So you're saying that even though he's technically inside the Chimera that he's not touching it?
"When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."
(There are a couple of exeptions - such as shooting from transport firepoints and the like).
As it says in the codex entry that a techpriest has to start in contact with a vehicle to repair it, I would say that they both (the vehicle and the priest) have to be on the table at the start of the turn.
The tricky thing for you to overcome here is the words 'in contact with'. Generally, all other references to this phrase means in btb.
So as far as I can tell, this means that yeah, being inside a chimera does not technically mean you are touching it, game wise!
Makes sense in a way too - not easy to repair a vehicle from the inside.
"Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"
Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.
And I'd back the others up, you can rarely do anything from inside a transport unless it explicitly says so, and as this says "touching", technically, the models aren't touching, are they? As the Techpriest model is off the board.
FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC
I model my chimeras with removable tops, so if it came down to semantics I could physically place the models inside the transport. Would they then be btb? I don't use tech's and this situation has never arisen for me, but I'm playing Devil's advocate.
Last edited by Planeswalker; August 18th, 2008 at 05:40.
Tolarian VIIth Armored Company (5k IG), GK(2.5k), Necron (4k)
I know it's not the same dex, but it's a precedent.
Page 31 if memory serves.
(Looking at DA techpriests as a interesting counter assault unit)
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
If people are arguing the Doom of Malanti (sp?) can injure units inside transports, then that ought to precipitate the Tech Priest technically being on the board and therefore 'in contact' with the chimera (or other transport) he is riding in to enact repairs. I would almost say this is a bit of an all-or-none situation pending the eventual judgement on Doom's ability: if it can hurt something from within a transport, then that model is regarded as actually being on the board in some fashion and therefore in contact with said transport, perhaps even more 'in contact' than it would otherwise be from outside; if it is ruled that the Doom cannot hurt units inside transports, then the Tech Priest is not technically 'there' to enact the repairs, and would have to disembark to be in contact with the vehicle.
Edit @ Stayscrunchyinmilk: That is an interesting precedent. However, the IG Tech Priest is able to repair vehicles during the shooting phase regardless of whether or not he moved (it would be kind of hard to use him for anything other than an artillery tank, otherwise), so I would assume this DA technicality might not apply.
Last edited by Axle_Gear; March 14th, 2010 at 09:48.
Personally I prefer the usual "units in a transport don't exist until they get out" ruling. But the new tyranids have broken this, as one unit specifically states it can target inside a transport (serious rage) and then people argue this means the Doom af Malan'tai can too. Both of those mean that the unit is inside the vehicle, and therefore a tech priest can fix it from inside as it is touching it. But I prefer it if the tech priests can't, because then I can tell em that the Doom doesn't effect units in transports.
I think the tyranid players would still argue the point with you, so you might as well give yourself the advantage of the tech priest being able to enact repairs while embarked, what with the 'official' ruling being that they still hurt units in transports. I personally think it was a horrible call on the judge's part if only for the fact that it threw things totally out of whack with an entire subset of rules that was barely stable to begin with, but until GW comes out and makes a statement it's the ruling we're stuck with.
And I realize rather late that I totally necro'd this thread. I should try to check the date next time I find an LO post on Google.