Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Now, I am curious how many death watch units you can take in a regular SM army. And if they are worth taking at all.
my belief is that its one and it counts as your second HQ choice. so you still need a commander of some sort and two troop choices in a normal game before you can field a deathwatch team.
from roumors ive seen though .. the verious ammo choices they get will be given to the sterngaurd vets. and the hell fire rounds can be taken by scout heavy bolters (all though scouts have become elites) though these are just romours at the moment... so in future u might not even need deathgaurd in your army (unless you like them ofcourse )
Rules are in WD 305 pgs 98-99. You can include only one kill team as specified in the rules. They are best used as mobile fire support unit, especially with the option of 2 assault 3 heavy bolters! they work great against hordes with 4+ armor saves or worse, otherwise they are just glorified marines and get get really expensive if you start to really kit them out with ammo options and close combat weapons. I believe they are a fun unit for casuall games but not cost effective for serious games.Err, wf? Deathguard? Heretic!so in future u might not even need deathgaurd in your army
Xbox Gamertag: x Helbrecht x
WHOOPS! I've been reading into various chapters recently about the pure members left from some of the chapters (so deathgaurd on the brain) I do apologise and being a big Fist fan il be sure to put myself in the pain glove!
But as far as the deathwatch i have to agree with Helbrecht, they are great for taking down swarms but can get very very expensive. They are great in games but as far as serious games go you have to consider that if a model costs you 40 points, will he/she do atleast 40 points of damage to the opponent or more before being killed. If the answer is no then you need to revist your FoC