Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just want to make sure of something before I buy the "space marine chaplain on bike"
Can you field these HQ choices in a 3000pt game?
Chapter Master with Command Squad
Master of Sanctity
Chief Librarian Tigurius
Chaplain on Bike
Interesting question. The standard force organisational chart was designed for games upto 2000 points. Over that, it is recommended that you use multiple detatchments. But ignoring that for the purpose of the question, "no" is the answer.
A Character, for example, your commander can lead a command squad AND have an additional character joined to it ALL counting as one HQ choice. So you could take Commander, squad and chaplain as one HQ choice.
The librarian would need a command squad to attach the 4th character to it (you can't attach a character to a character - though Jain Zar and Ragnar Blackmane have tried several times ). The chaplain on the bike could theroretically (depending on how the read the rules regarding whether an attached character owns the command squad in the same way the main character owns it - see bike rules) be attached to such a squad but he could not leave it or break coherency to utilise the bike.
Your best bet is to get your opponent to agree to 2 detatchments in light of the points spilling over the 2000 mark.
umm, i'm actually pretty sure you can add 1 of each hq to a command squad and it only counts as 1 HQ. but with your list you cant take tigures on a bike so you cant put the chaplain and tigures in the same squad.
You could take all of them in 3000 points if you were playing apoc, if you weren't I would think that you can onlly take 2 using 1 FO chart. I don't know what trench rat is talking about 2 characters and a command squad as 1 Hq choice?
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
Wow I just checked my codex and trench rat is right. On pg. 21 article number 3 under "Space Marine Characters" a chaplain or a librarian can attach to a command squad led by another character and him, the squad and the character leading it all count as a single HQ choice. That's awesome! in a standard game you could have all 3 commander types. thanks trench rat! i've never noticed that before.
Glad I could help - 'tis amazing the stuff you find when you read the rules very, very slowly.