Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've been snooping around the guard forums off and on, semi-planning on building them as my second army. My friend is going to be playing a game at our LGS tomorrow with his list and as I was looking over it, I saw something weird.
His list runs an HSO squad as his HQ with a commissar advisor and nothing else in that FOC slot. He then has 2 identical troop slots consisting of a JO with a commissar advisor, 2 anti-tank support squads and 5 line squads. He seems to think he can have support squads with the infantry platoon HQ but from my reading of pg44 for infantry platoons he can only get the JO squad. This seems supported by the command platoon entry on pg38 where it says you take a command squad and support squads. Part of this is just because it's how he originally read it and part is because apparently he saw a tourney list that did it his way. So if any of you can chime in on what's correct that'd be appreciated.
They are my bulwark against the Terror. They are the Defenders of Humanity. They are my SPESS MAHREENS!
You can only take heavy weapon support squads as part of your command platoon HQ or as a heavy weapon platoon heavy support choice with 1 command squad and 1-3 heavy weapon squads.
Don't know what kinda freaky tournament that was, but just to re-affirm what jh said, you cannot take heavy weapon support squads as part of your platoons, only as HQ or heavy support choices, (with the heavy support requiring yet another platoon HQ)
Hope this helps.
Inquistion force WIP. Pics on posts 17 and 23.
Unless he's using the Catachan (ie. Deathworld Vet) Codex. They are allowed 1 Heavy Weapon Squad per Infantry Platoon.
Last edited by MisterH; August 29th, 2008 at 13:43.
Emperor have mercy on those who stand against me, for I shall not.
We're still using a 3rd edition codex. >_>
Actually, IG got 2 Codices in 3rd ed. Although the Codex:Catachans (aka Deathworld Vets) was released for the first, the 'replacement' Jungle Fighters rules in the 2nd (current) Codex were really only a Poor Man's Catachans, they made the Deathworld Vets Codex available online. So, although you couldn't do it for most tournaments, some non-GW may allow it, the rules are still available, and semi-legal Like Armoured Companies, Kroot Mercenaries and Chaos Dwarfs.
FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC
Right. And although the IG codex of today was released before the 4th ed rulebook, it is still closer to the 4th ed rules than the one before. The current codex does not work with Codex Catachans. I call that one the 4th ed codex (as do most people I talk to),
And secondly, why call it 'the 4th ed dex'? Why not just, the Imperial Guard Codex? As it's not 4th Ed, and why you really need to differentiate between the Codices further than 'current' or 'old' is beyond me.
However, you are, of course, entirely at liberty to call it whatever you like. I just don't see why you'd call it that.
FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC