Daemonhunters RAW, What you need to know - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Airborne Mastershake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,664
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    479 (x8)

    Daemonhunters RAW, What you need to know

    I decided to list a variety of fun facts regarding how Daemonhunters units function in the current rules environment. As you all may be aware, GW released a FAQ in regards to Daemonhunters, but it failed to answer many questions and even generated a few more in some cases. Here is the Rules As Written or RAW breakdown for how they affect you.

    Daemons
    What is a Daemon? If you consult 'Daemons' Terminology on pg 20, this gives you a definition, but many of these units no longer exist and the FAQ failed to add many more that have arisen. Here are the Daemons from a RAW interpretation:
    Daemonhosts
    Nurglings
    Vehicles with Daemonic Possession (The Soulgrinder does not have this upgrade)
    Posessed Chaos Space Marines

    All other units one may considered Daemons are not covered under this definition and the description is pretty clear that these units are the only ones referred to when it says "Daemon" in the codex.

    Rites of Exorcism
    The "Instability Checks" referred to here and everywhere else in the codex no longer exists, so this part of the ability does nothing. On the other hand, the last paragraph "All Daemons attempting to charge Grey Knights must roll dice for their assault range as if they were moving through difficult ground" not only works but got a little boost. If you read carefully, the only criteria for a model to recieve initiative 1 on the charge is a difficult terrain test, not moving through actual difficult terrain. The few models still classified as Daemons will be affected by this.

    Daemonic Infestation
    Sustained Attack doesn't exist anymore, so this rule should do nothing, but if your opponent really wants to push it feel free to remind him that the only unit this affects is Nurglings as all other units mentioned do not exist anymore. Also mention that they have to walk on from the table edge. That should put him off this idea really fast.

    Land Raider Crusaders
    Parts of this will affect regular Land Raiders, but most of the inconsistancies come from the Crusader. Your Assault Cannon is only Heavy3 and doesn't have Rending per the reference in the back of the rulebook. I know it sux, but that's how it's written. The Grey Knight LRC still has the "Hurricane Bolter" special rule which allows it to fire them regardless of how far it moves or whatever else it fires, don't let a SM player cheat you because "His can't do that". Machine Spirit is different for Grey Knights than ALL other marines right now (Will probably be remedied in the new SM codex, but for now we have a small edge). For our Machine Spirit, you DONT fire at BS2, an altered BS is never mentioned in the FAQ, also you can fire the weapon regardless of how far you move, again, don't let a SM player cheat you, have a copy of the FAQ ready to slap him in the face with.


    If anyone else wants to add anything go ahead.

    Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Pedantic Englishman Wolf Lord Herby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,229
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    136 (x4)

    Would the Daemon units in the adversaries rules still be classed as daemons?
    FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC

  4. #3
    Airborne Mastershake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,664
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    479 (x8)

    Valid point, yes, they are named units that are covered, although I have yet to see them used, they would fall under the "Daemon" category.
    Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009

  5. #4
    The Voice of Reason RJSuperfreaky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    756
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Mastershake View Post
    Rites of Exorcism
    The "Instability Checks" referred to here and everywhere else in the codex no longer exists, so this part of the ability does nothing. On the other hand, the last paragraph "All Daemons attempting to charge Grey Knights must roll dice for their assault range as if they were moving through difficult ground" not only works but got a little boost. If you read carefully, the only criteria for a model to recieve initiative 1 on the charge is a difficult terrain test, not moving through actual difficult terrain. The few models still classified as Daemons will be affected by this.

    So does this in essence mean that any daemons we fight with GK ALWAYS strike at initiative 1 when charging us?
    Marion: You're not the man I knew ten years ago.
    Indiana: It's not the years, honey, it's the mileage.


    For the last time, there are
    NO FEMALE SPACE MARINES!!!!!

  6. #5
    Airborne Mastershake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,664
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    479 (x8)

    Unless they have a grenade equivalency, then yes.
    Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Defilers have daemonic possession as standard and it can be given to vechiles as an upgrade. You might want to add that to the top of the list.

    Daemon hammer and grimoire of true names only works agaisnt daemons where as sacred incense works agaisnst all choas as it states so.

    Page 50 of the main rules says to use the codex listing/rule if different from the main rules. So our force weapons dont cause instant death.

    They only way any this would change would be an actually faq for DH. The rules being reprinted at the back of the main rules woundnt fix this since the codex still over rides them.

  8. #7
    Senior Member image vertification sux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    England
    Age
    35
    Posts
    438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Smoke Launchers: In the codex states that any penetrating score becomes a glancing hit.
    This means cover saves and the effects of smoke launcher stack.
    Holocaust: No more partial hits.
    Gun servitors (plasmacannon) can reroll the overheat and the scatter roll if chosen to do so within a inquisitor squad of two sage.
    I might write like a ork but i fight like a poet.
    Some one tell me they have ever seen a nightbringer die from a Nemesis Force Weapon.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts