Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm trying to build a SMurf army and need something cleared up.
Can Terminators that take a Land Raider transport still teleport onto the battlefield?
Sort of like a fake-out maneuver.
i was always under the impression that if a unit took a dedicated transport, it had to deploy with the transport. since the Land Raider cannot deep strike, i would imagine that any squad taking a LR Dedicated Transport cannot deep strike. I could be wrong though, i dont have my rulebook with me at the moment.
you coul always just take the Land Raider as a Heavy Support choice, so it moves freely, then teleport the termies and join them up later in the game.
They don't have to be deployed in it, you can keep the LR seperate from them.
You could take the land raider as a heavy support chioce DS the terminators THEN have them embark the turn after
But it's kinda pointless, by the time they teleport they won't need the land-raider to get around so much.
In the Dark Angel's FAQ: "Q. Can you use a Drop Pod on its own, with no squad inside? A. Yes you can." The DP is a dedicated transport option. If you can deploy the squad while the DP stays in reserve, I can't see why you couldn't deploy the LR/C while the Terminators stay in reserve.
You can certainly do so, but the 'fake out' perspective isn't really allowed. 5E rule book requires you to explicitly tell your opponent what's in reserve and if it's deep striking or walking on from the table edge. You can't just leave them off to the side letting him think they're in the Land Raider and then say "haha! foooooled you' and make a reserves roll on turn 2.
Is there not a line under terminators that says something like
'A unit without a transport may deepstrike' or something to that affect?
I also wonder if you would have to keep the LR in reserve too, as it is theirs?
Seems a bit like just a sneaky way to have 4 Heavy choices to me
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
well i guess its safe to say that you can do this... since technically, there is nothing saying you cant, even the dark angels FAQ stating that you can deploy empty drop pods... why anyone would want to deploy an empty drop pod is beyond me (cover, perhaps?) but it seems like a very strange tactic (actually, it seems like a way to squeeze more heavy support choices out of the FO chart ). either way ive never seen this in games ive played before.