Questions regarding combi-weapons - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Questions regarding combi-weapons

    These questions are for anyone who's seen the new rules and understands how combi weapons really work.

    1) Would Sternguard Veteren models equiped with combi-weapons still get to use special issue ammunition on any turn it did not fire the combi portion of the bolter? In other words, does the bolter half of the combi still count as a standard bolter in regards to using the ammunition?

    2) Would the Chapter Tactics of Vulkan He'stan apply the twin-linked rule to combi weapons (when firing combi-flamer or combi-melta). In other words, does the one-shot portion of the combi weapon count as that type of weapon therefore benefiting from the rule provided by He'stan?

    thanks in advance.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Henshini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Age
    33
    Posts
    297
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    Yes for the first question, is is explicitly allowed as per the sternguard entry.

    I would say yes for the second question.
    "Science has made us gods even before we are worthy of being men." - Jean Rostand

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Thanks for the reply. If anyone believes otherwise, please post your thoughts.

  5. #4
    Ender of Threads Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    256 (x5)

    Everything I've ever heard or seen in regards to combi-weapons treats them exactly the same as the full sized versions. So a combi-melta is both a Bolter and a full fledged Meltagun, a combi-plasma is exactly the same as a Plasma Gun, and a combi-flamer is exactly the same as a Flamer. They just have single shot magazines/fuel tanks/power cells.

    Therefore I see no possible reason why the Flamer or Melta parts wouldn't get the benefit - they are a Flamer and/or a Melta, after all!
    We've got plenty of youth... How about a fountain of smart?


  6. #5
    I'm back >.> Pickle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Wanganui, New Zealand
    Age
    24
    Posts
    2,233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    262 (x7)

    Yes to first, sorta no to second, as according to RAW it is, All Flamers, Meltas Multi Meltas etc count as twinlinked, no Combi Weapons mentioned, but personally I would let you, as I think they count as normaly weapons etc, just one shot versions.
    Miss Spam Master 2009
    The Briny Series: Urban War Beginnings | Cygnar
    Thrallstudios

  7. #6
    Member UltioRage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    27
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Combi Weapons would be twin-linked if you had hestan. When you fire flamer part of the combi-flamer you count as using a flamer. The same goes for when you use a combi-melta. You can also note that when you do fire the combi part of a weapon you use that weapons profile. So even though its a bolter and combi-flamer. If you fire the flamer part it still counts as an assault weapon and not a rapid fire weapons so you can assault that turn also.
    40k Ultramarines W-44 D-12 L-14 (This record is a combined from ArdBoyz and RogueTraderTourneys)
    Warhammer Choas DaemonsW-4 D-0 L-2

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    follow up question... Would a Sternguard squad get to use special issue ammunition with a Storm Bolter?

    edit: never mind... even if they did the profile would still change to be rapid-fire. so the question is moot anyway.
    Last edited by nalanthi; October 1st, 2008 at 16:59.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia, but doing an exchange in Germany
    Posts
    330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x1)

    yeah, when they take storm bolters, they lose the special ammunition.
    just out of curiosity, i heard that sternguards could take heavy flamers, is that true? and what other heavy weapons can they take?

    cheers in advance

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Looks like they can take any of them. two per squad.

  11. #10
    Member Toko Zob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Nanticoke,PA
    Age
    23
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Ok, combi-guns shoot the main weapon normally and the second once a game.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts