Drop Pod Question? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member Lachlarlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    Drop Pod Question?

    Alright, this is a hypothetical.

    Let's say I deep strike a Drop Pod into a ruined building. Let's also say that I roll poorly for my Dangerous Terrain check and gets immobilized.

    The Drop Pod is already immobile, so the second immobilized becomes armament destroyed, so I lose my Storm Bolter.

    Now, I disembark the unit(s) inside the Pod. Does that unit need to check for Dangerous Terrain as well, or do they disembark normally?

    What if the disembarking model is a Dreadnought?

    Thanks!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member omegoku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cork, Ireland
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    216 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lachlarlan View Post
    Alright, this is a hypothetical.

    Let's say I deep strike a Drop Pod into a ruined building. Let's also say that I roll poorly for my Dangerous Terrain check and gets immobilized.

    The Drop Pod is already immobile, so the second immobilized becomes armament destroyed, so I lose my Storm Bolter.

    Now, I disembark the unit(s) inside the Pod. Does that unit need to check for Dangerous Terrain as well, or do they disembark normally?

    What if the disembarking model is a Dreadnought?

    Thanks!
    You don't need to roll, as it is already immobilized
    So you do not lose your storm bolter.
    A ruin is not Dangerous terrain for infantry, so no need to roll dangerous or difficult terrain dice (if they wish to move in the next turn they would roll Difficult terrain test.
    Dreadnought does not treat ruin as dangerous terrain so it is the same as infantry.
    Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
    I currently play:
    Doom Eagle Space Marines
    Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
    Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
    Tau of O'me
    Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters

    and my attempted foray into fantasy
    'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff

  4. #3
    Member Lachlarlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Age
    34
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    Well, the reason I asked about the unit disembarking into difficult terrain from a Drop Pod is that the Deep Strike rules state any unit Deep Striking into difficult terrain treat it as dangerous terrain.

    I'm just trying to figure out if the unit inside the Pod counts as having Deep Struck and thus needs to make a dangerous terrain check when disembarking from a Drop Pod, or whether, due to disembarking after the Pod has landed, they simply count it as difficult terrain as normal.

  5. #4
    Member Trench Rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Age
    36
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    the pod is the deep striking element and suffers the damage. The marines "step out" of the pod (rather than decend from the skies on rocket packs) so I would say that the marines are safe but the pod may be damaged by the landing.

  6. #5
    Member DarkPhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mississauga/GTA - PM and lets set up a game!
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x1)

    The Drop pod follows the rules for deep striking. The unit inside follows the rules for disembarking from a transport.

    Cheers
    Dark Angels WIP (completed) | more pics
    Guess this explains why I like my Dark Eldar so much...

  7. #6
    Acting XO of Tanith 1st MadLarkin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    College Station
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,349
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x4)

    Aye so if you roll a 1 than your storm bolter or deathwind launcher gets knocked out of commission. that's all.

    That's why drop pods are so amazing. that and the fact that they contest objectives
    Most Notable Achievements:
    Killed a Revenant Titan in one shot.
    Killed 900 pts worth of Blood Angels in 2 turns while only loosing 4 pts.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts