Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've been running the storm shield relic blade combo on my captain recently and wanted to double check on whether it was legal. In the fluff paragraph it mentions that relic blades are two-handed weapons, but I'm not sure if that means other options can't be used. The rules part of weapon simply states that the extra attack for a second weapon cannot be claimed.
They are my bulwark against the Terror. They are the Defenders of Humanity. They are my SPESS MAHREENS!
I dunno thats kinda tricky, but i think the two handed is just in the case that you dont get a bonus attack so it should be okay. That is how i read it though, and ive been wrong before.
It is legal. In the previous codex, the Storm Shield counted as a one-handed weapon for the purposes of how many weapons you can use. That limitation is no longer put onto the Storm Shield, and you can take a Relic Weapon and Storm Shield both, so you can use them both. You're fine.
This was debated in another thread recently. No rule to state you can't have both weapons.
It is a good combo
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
Yep, expecially since now the Storm Shield technically doesnt take up a hand. Just imagine it lashed to your commanders arm like a buckler, therefore he has a free hand =P
the voices of LO are the sole reason why i ripped apart and re-converted my custom chapter master. 7hours of changes and painting, 1 very happy master with a storm shield!
What about putting such model on a bike? Is it legal to have a 2handed blade on a bike?
The general rule right now is there are no rules regarding 2handed weapons. The rule on the relic blade is you cannot gain a bonus for weilding two close combat weapons (say, relic blade + bolt pistol/etc)
As for having a 2handed weapon on a bike, there are still no rules. Consider your character just holding on to the 2handed weapon with one hand for the purpose of driving, before pulling up and hacking with both hands =)
As long as it's listed as an option in the codex, you are free to do it. So you can take a Relic Blade, then a Storm Shield, then give your Captain a Bike; all are options, and none of them exclude another, so you're perfectly fine. The "requires one hand to drive" rule for Bikes is a 3rd Edition rule long since past in the Space Marine world.