Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I dont know if this has been covered, and i appologize to the mods if it has, but...
command squads say they can be taken if you take a captain p132
does this mean masters can take them as well? or is the command squad for captains only?
No, when it says captains it means captains.
Masters can take Honour Guards, though, so similar options.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
yeah...but honour guard cant take an apocathery for the feel no pain >.<
follow-up question; captains enable the choice of command squad; but does he have to be fielded (deployed, attached) to/with it? same question goes for chapter master/honour guard.
from what i can discern, it doesnt mention anything about being a retinue or the like in the codex, and some of the fluff even hints at it being a separate unit "enabling the captain not to get caught up in personal engagements but to be able to focus on the battle as a whole" or something like that.
Going by the RAW rules, I'd say you could deploy the command/honour guard squad seperate to the captain/master.
I assume this is how Calgar is able to take three squads of honour guard?
I now have a craving to deploy my captain and master with appropreate guard squad each, detach the master and attach him to the captain's command squad. That would make for a very interesting close-combat command squad and a squad of honour guard to act as a wall to stop counter-charges =)
Last edited by CleanRabbit; October 14th, 2008 at 16:06.
I understand it to be an extra unit that happens to be nice for the HQ choice to attach to, but certainly not mandatory and definately not a retinue.
My thoughts are that they are little perks for choosing certain HQ's that are generally pretty good but costed accordingly.
No mention of retinue, they are just an extra squad that is "unlocked" by taking the appropriate HQ choice.
Same goes for servitors.
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
Speaking of Honor Guard and Command Squads, can Vulkan take either one? I wouldn't think so unless he counts as the Master of the Salamanders. Which he's not, fluff-wise... That said, he was a captain.