Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, either I'm an idiot, it's been too long since I've played marines, or the codex is poorly worded. I can't decide.
Regarding close combat: The example at the bottom of the first column on page 37 of the BRB suggests that the "attacks" attribute is naked, bare-fisted, and that a model with this base that has two one-handed weapons gets a total of three attacks, all other conditions being equal.
Now, one unit in the marine codex says it has two attacks in its attributes, but the standard equipment includes cc weapon and pistol. Does this mean the marine actually has three attacks, as the above suggests, or is the extra attack already accounted for in the profile?
Also, I'm a little confused about how lightning claws work. On page 42 of the BRB, it says that a model carrying two cc weapons gets an extra attack, but then it says when using two of the same special weapon, "these models gain one additional attack." So does that mean using a pair of lightning claws conveys two extra attacks to the wielder?
P.S. Sorry if this has been covered before. I looked around a bit first, but couldn't find my answer.
The bonus of wielding two CCWs is almost never included in a model's profile unless it specifically states that that is the case in its entry. As for the Lightning Claws, certain special weapons do not get bonus attacks for wielding two CCWs unless you are wielding two of the same special weapons - these are Thunder Hammers, Power Fists, and Lightning Claws. You must wield two of these in order to claim the bonus attack.
Right, so assuming the model's base attacks is 2, and the model has a PAIR of lightning claws, does that give the model a total of three or four attacks?
Cool. Thanks for setting me straight. This'll teach me to play too much with Necrons LOL
Honestly mate, great thread! I was quite confused about this whole thing as well... same with some friends. Just getting adjusted to new rules I guess.