Calgar - Question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Age
    27
    Posts
    102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Calgar - Question

    I think I'm understanding this right, but I wanted to make sure. When I use his power sword, it strikes at his base initiative with his base number of attacks, but when I use the Gauntlets of Ultramar then he stikes at initative 1 with +1 attack, right?

    Last edited by winter117a; October 30th, 2008 at 18:54.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Echoaaron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Age
    30
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    ye thats right.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x0)

    No that's not correct. Big Rule Book pg 42, under the heading Two different special weapons: "When it is there turn to attack, these models must choose which weapon to use that turn, but may never gain the bonus attack for using two weapons (such is the penalty for using too many complex weapons)."

    Marneus has two different special weapons (powerfists and power sword) and so never receives a bonus attack for having the extra powerfist.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkPhoenixe View Post
    No that's not correct.
    yes it is, he has a pair of power fists (two special weapons that are the same)
    and in addition to that he has other weaponry...in the prementioned example a powersword which a normal close combat weapon gives a +1 attack to, however he doesn't have one of those and so loses the bonus attack.
    Dear Game Designer,
    Rock is Cheese. Paper is fine.
    Signed,
    Scissors

  6. #5
    Member Echoaaron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Age
    30
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    yes calgar has a pair of powerfists and they give +1atack ur example is if he just had 1 powerfist then he would have to choose between that and his power sword and either way wouldnt get +1atk

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Age
    27
    Posts
    102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Sweet. Thanks for the quick responses.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkPhoenixe View Post
    No that's not correct. Big Rule Book pg 42, under the heading Two different special weapons: "When it is there turn to attack, these models must choose which weapon to use that turn, but may never gain the bonus attack for using two weapons (such is the penalty for using too many complex weapons)."

    Marneus has two different special weapons (powerfists and power sword) and so never receives a bonus attack for having the extra powerfist.
    What the above text explains is that he (or any other model) can't use both special weapons at the same time.

    Marneus will have to choose between his gauntlets (which are a pair of power fists and would grant him the bonus for attacking with two close combat weapon) or his powersword (in which case he won't get the bonus because he is not armed with two close combat weapons).

    The only benefit of using the powersword is striking at high initiative.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Age
    27
    Posts
    102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy View Post
    The only benefit of using the powersword is striking at high initiative.
    And ignoring armor saves.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by winter117a View Post
    And ignoring armor saves.
    he meant in this situation XD
    Dear Game Designer,
    Rock is Cheese. Paper is fine.
    Signed,
    Scissors

  11. #10
    Knight-Champion chrispcarter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sacriston
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,141
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    339 (x8)

    Damn I should have remember to do this in the game I just played... not that it was really an issue when you have Calgar with 5 Terminators with Thunder Hammers and Storm Shields... casualties just didn't happen!

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts