Black Templar HQ question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Black Templar HQ question

    I have been playing BT for some time and I have always taken an Emperors Champ and another Marshal in every game, even 1K, because I thought that I had had to. But recently while surfing bolter and chainswords BT army lists I found that alot of the 1K lists didn't have a HQ choice (The champion doesn't count). I thought that I might inquire into this as I might if I could, drop the Marshal, for obvious reasons. If I was playing any other army in a 1K game I wouldn't want 1/4 of my army as charactors. If an experienced player in this area could give me a strait answer I would realy apreciate it, TY.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    You are required in all standard games of Warhammer 40k (obviously not counting Combat Patrol, etc.) to have a minimum of one HQ choice. The Emperor's Champion is a Black Templars requirement after a certain number of points, and also does not count towards the HQ choices on the Force Organisation chart. Thus, in 1000 point games, you must take the Emperor's Champion as well as an additional HQ.

    Basically, the lists you see without another HQ are illegal.

  4. #3
    Senior Member darkness55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bendigo, Australia
    Age
    28
    Posts
    318
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    Actually in a FAQ recently it was said that the emperor's champion even though he doesn't take up a slot is a HQ, so he can fill the role of a compulsary HQ without taking up the slot. I was also using two characters until I figured this out...
    Move forward and stay quiet brothers.

    Check out my half finished blog here.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks mate,

    I was thinking this was the case and I am releived to here this.

    Do you have the url for the FAQ on this topic. If you do that would be awesome.

  6. #5
    Senior Member darkness55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bendigo, Australia
    Age
    28
    Posts
    318
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    Yeah I do actually its....

    http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_...th_Edition.pdf

    Hope that helps, says it right there on the left hand side...
    Move forward and stay quiet brothers.

    Check out my half finished blog here.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks a heap, this will change the way I play a heap. There was also a few other good things to note on that page too. Thanks again.

  8. #7
    Senior Member darkness55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bendigo, Australia
    Age
    28
    Posts
    318
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    Np, everyone at librarium online is always around to help, for once I actually knew something! lol.
    Move forward and stay quiet brothers.

    Check out my half finished blog here.

  9. #8
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Nice find there, darkness, I stand corrected. Though I think it's a bit silly, personally; it may be GW's attempt to soothe the Black Templar players who don't like the fact that the new Space Marines codex has a bunch more goodies. All throughout 4th edition, the Emperor's Champion was basically non-existent on the Force Organisation Chart, and I wish he'd have remained that way. Ah, well.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts