Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
hi guys. always wondered if i could fieldspace marine units in a guard army like as an extra bit of oomf. i heard someone say that they count as restricted troops and they take up a doctine point. also, i havent been playing for best part of a year now and heard there was a new guard codex. is this true?
Space Marine Units: The only way to get a Space Marine unit in an IG army is to try and find the Deathwatch Space Marine rules somewhere.
New Guard Codex: The last Guard Codex was released in (according to Lexicanum) 2003, though there are rumours of a new one being released in the next year or so.
FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC
Only as an ally in apocalyspe games or maybe in campaigns. I don't know who told you about restricted troops but marines aren't part of it.
On the other hand, you can get Grey knights as an inquisitorial ally and you don't have to play apocalypse for this.
Although, when it comes this sort of thing, I always refer to the first rule in the book, that is the rule that says that you don't have to play by all the rules as long as both players agree.
Imperial Guard: 3000 pts
Chaos Daemons: 1000 pts
"Hard pounding, gentlemen: but we shall see who can pound the longest."
Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington
EDIT : SORRY :p didnt read the previous post well enough
"MaxDv : On the other hand, you can get Grey knights as an inquisitorial ally and you don't have to play apocalypse for this."
Do not forget about the Grey Knights!, they are not vanilla marines by all means (and freakishly expensive, both in cash and points). BUT, the are marines with a slightly better statline (at least in close combat), the nemesis force weapon + stormbolter. whats not to like?
I personally field a Greyknight Grandmaster, with a retinue of 10 Greyknight terminators, they add a very potent CC punch to my gunlines.
Consult the Codex : Daemonhunters for full rules for using them as allies , and what place they have in the FOC , and the limits on what you may take.