Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey everyone, about the Drop Pod rule Inertial Guidance System. It says "on top of impassible terrain" would that include the board edge or even off the board ?
Cheers in advance. The Prince.
Thanks for the clarification. Just have to place them 12" from a board edge.
That's what I do... unless I really need to try my luck - or for those who don't believe in luck, Scout Bike Squads with locator beacons ;-)
I've had good luck with just making sure that I'm about 7-8 inches away from the table edge at a minimum. The averages would dictate that you won't fall off the table edge, except for once in a GREAT number of games. First, the scatter die has to land in that direction, then, on average, you'll roll 8 or less on 2 dice pretty consistently even if it the scatter die lands with the arrow pointed toward the edge of nowhere.
Of course having as many locator beacons as possible can help to reduce the risk even further... especially if you have them on a scout bike squad, who can infiltrate and make a turbo boost-scout move to get the locator to the right place.
The guidance system makes you all but unstoppable.
If you scatter on an enemy or off the board you just trace a line back to your orginal desired destination and the first bit safe enough to land you land in.
So if you scatter off the table, your d/pod is place on the table edge (unless thats within 1" of a model, of which then you place on the other side of the unit)
Obviously if you can quote pages / statements that prove otherwise I would be very happy to be corrected :-)
I don't see how you would jump from not knowing what to do, to looking on the deep strike mishap table... they're not deep striking... ones dropping in a solid light tank like pod and the other is teleporting through the warp with nothing but your armour between you.
however, in the drop pod rules, it says "drop pods always enter play using the deep strike rules from the mission special rules section of the warhammer 40,00 rulebook." which includes the mishap table. and in the 40k rulebook it lists four reasons to use the table, landing off the table, landing on top of a friendly model, in impassible terrain, or within 1 inch of an enemy model. the inertial guidance system takes care of all of those but landing off of the table. if off of the table was impassible terrain, why would it list both in the rulebook?