Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
ok, so my problem is this: yesterday I used a Librarian (namely Tigurius) for the first time in 5 th edition. And there is one thing that puzzles me - when a librarian uses the teleporting power and scatters on a unit or impassable terrain then you have to roll on a deepstrike mishap table (right?). And so if you roll Delayed result, what does happend? It says that a unit is placed back in reserve but Tigurius cannot deep strike. Does he arrive from a table edge? Is he placed back in the location before he used that power?
That is an awesome question. Has got me stumped!!
If I was going to make a guess at it, then I would say that Tigirius and any unit with him would retain the deep strike rule until redeposited on the table.
Just took ol' Tigirius a little longer to find his way through the Warp!
I agree with Glyphed, obviously Tiggy can deepstrike, that's what the power does. I think a fair and reasonable interpretation is that he and the squad get put into reserves and have to come back in like any normal delayed deepstrikers.
As Glyphed said, perhaps he gets lost in the warp, or at least delayed. After all, time moves differently through the warp, so it is just as possible that he comes out several rounds later after the battle has almost been won/lost!
I'd go with the rules at raw value mate, even if the reasoning behind them are not imediately obvious.
That's fresh, never thought of that could happen
.. So Tigu-whatever gets lost in the Warp, took him an extra turn to find his way out.. can he benefit from a Teleport Homer or Locator Beacon on the next turn?
Anima Tactics - try it out!
I suppose that also means you can technically march him off the board edge if you want when he comes out of reserves. And reasonably, if this happened to an opponent of mine I'd also let him deepstrike back out of reserves, even if technically the squad wouldn't be able to normally.
Last edited by Deris87; November 23rd, 2008 at 23:12.
you know I really dont know... I would guess that he would just deepstrike in with the unit when they come back in ... however there is no way that he would be able to use a homer as that makes NO SENSE at all...
Slaanesh, god of the beer goggles
It appears as though he should should be placed in reserve and then (following the delayed result rules) deep strike anywhere within 24" of where he/unit was/were originally.
After all the warp is fickle; he could have lost his way in the warp, or, as time is different in the warp, tiggy thinks he is only gone for a second but reemerges hundreds of years later wondering where everyone went.
"Militaristic expansion into Hell is a bad idea." - ze_poodle
I would say he goes into reserve and Deep Strikes when he returns, benefitting from any locator beacons as normal.
Check out ==My== blog: www.bnhblog.blogspot.com
This may be a bit of a reach, and I haven't read much fluff surrounding the technology.
But wouldn't the locator beacon / teleport homer be just as much a big 'drop here' sign in the Immaterium, as well as a targetting place for drop pods, assault marines etc. As deep striking terminators are literally thrown through the warp to get to where they need to be?
Of course this opens a lot of dubiousness about deepstriking daemons on your teleport homers, deepstriking terminators on icons etc.