Model with Demo Charge. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member Riptok's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Model with Demo Charge.

    When a model is given a DC, is that the only weapon it has?

    Or was it also given a DC?


    Presumptively the model could fire his "lasgun" til he was in range for the DC.

    T or F??


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Agate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hamilton
    Age
    29
    Posts
    268
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    15 (x1)

    Having only read the codex a few times I can only mention the following:

    The only place i found where a model could be equipped with a demo charge was on page 39 of the Codex: Imperial Guard, which states that the model may replace his weapons with demo charge. This would lead me to believe that they would not be able to use their lasguns.
    Agate's Theorem TM

    Awesome + Awesome = Double Awesome

  4. #3
    Member Riptok's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Not use it.

    Just have it at all.

  5. #4
    Lasgun Cell Cook BoxANT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, MN
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,096
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    118 (x6)

    It clearly says in the codex that "... Guardsmen can *replace* their weaponry with a weapon from the following list"

    Obviously, the demolition charge is so heavy, the guardsmen had to leave his rifle at home.

  6. #5
    Member r_h_knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    54
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x1)

    Pg 34 Imperial Guard Codex: After demo charge is used, model is replaced with one armed with the "basic weapon of the squad". If a model is not available, then the demo charge model is just removed. (presumably from the heart attack caused by carrying and tossing such a heavy piece of equipment.)

    This implies that the demo charge holder still carries his lasgun...

    So the argument is can he use the "basic weapon for the squad" while lugging the explosives.

  7. #6
    Junior Member sier86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Age
    30
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    i dont have my IG codex on me but i do have the catachans codex (yes i know it is out of date) and i quote 'A model armed with a demolition charge may use it in the shooting phase instead of making its normal shooting attack'. this leads me to belive the model has a lasgun.

    Also GW only sells model model that have D-charges also have either a lasgun or shot gun, so i guess that they do have a another weapon

  8. #7
    Member r_h_knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    54
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by sier86 View Post
    so i guess that they do have a another weapon
    I agree... and shooting it seems to be allowed.

  9. #8
    Senior Member stayscrunchyinmilk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    London
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,399
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    370 (x8)

    There's two ways you get them:

    1) Special weapons squads.
    page 39, states "replace their weaponry with one of the blah blah blah"
    However, when you throw the demo charge, under the demo charge rules entry (see armoury) you replace the model with a guardsman armed with the standard equipment carried by the squad (lasgun or laspistol+ccw are the options for special weapons squads)

    - so no, he can't shoot other weapons until he throws the demo charge.

    2) Shaeffers last chancers.

    "A specialist may carry blah, blah, dempo charge at plus xyz points"
    This does not replace his weapons. He still has his standard weapons. He must be a specialist to have one, thus has all the implicit restrictions on maximum amounts of weaponry carried as he has access to the armoury (to be a specialist) (please note, demo charges are not either one or two handed, or in fact listed as weapons anywhere) - This does come with a catch that he must be replaced with a model armed as a standard member of the squad, (as per the demo charge entry in wargear - for last chancers that's shotgun, lasgun or laspistol & ccw. It's considered polite to have the same weapons on the model before and after throwing it.) so, if you buy him other equipment it's wasted.

    - so yes, they can shoot either their standard weapons, or a demo charge.

    In conclusion, yes and no. depends on your carrier.
    Last edited by stayscrunchyinmilk; December 8th, 2008 at 13:44.

  10. #9
    Member Lavallin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    32
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x1)

    By the rules as written, there are two ways to play a Demo Charge.

    The first uses the Forge World Cadian Upgrade Kit. There's a Demo Charge left arm, and a right arm with a lasgun slung behind his shoulder. In this case, when the demo charge has been thrown, you can replace the thrower with a squaddie with a rifle.

    The second is a bit less politically correct. If you choose not to replace the demo charge guy, he is simply removed - therefore, he's essentially a suicide bomber. The tasteless guide to fielding demo charges goes as follows (and yes, I've seen this done):

    -Play Tallarns.
    -Field fanatics with bomb vests.
    -Scream "Al-Emperor Akhbar!!"
    -Get banned from your local GW.

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by sier86 View Post
    i dont have my IG codex on me but i do have the catachans codex (yes i know it is out of date) and i quote 'A model armed with a demolition charge may use it in the shooting phase instead of making its normal shooting attack'.
    This is exactly what it says in the current IG codex, page 34 as was stated. The confusion comes from the wording in the special weapons support squad where every other special weapon replaces the lasgun, obviously this is not the case with the demo charge as it's just an explosive device. Think of the det bombs Rawne carries sacks full of in the Gaunt's Ghost novels as a decent mental image.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts