Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, I'm a little new to WH40K and have only been playing for a few weeks now. I'm starting off with the Imperial Guards and have questions about the HQ.
Can you take a character such as Ursarkar Creed/Jarran Kell or Colonel Schaeffer and his Last Chancers and still take 0-5 support squads (i.e. Fire, Anti-tank, Mortar, etc.)?
How about Commissar Yarrick - can he be used as HQ in lieu of the standard command squad and if so, can he also have support squads?
Yes, and no
If you purchase Creed or Schaeffer, but no command platoon then no you cannot take support squads. If you purchase a command platoon then you can buy support squads as per normal.
Oh, and yes, Yarrick can be your compulsory HQ choice, but again you don't get the support squads without buying a command platoon.
sorry to burst your bubble, but a Command Platoon is a 1 choice. Not 0-1, 1. You have to have one, regardless of whether you take spec chars or not.
The only exception is from the FAQ, where it tells us a pure Last Chancers army needn't have one.
EDIT: Also, would like to take this oppurtunity to say welcome to this fine forum, and I wish you both many years of happy posting and mod-dodging.
Last edited by Wolf Lord Herby; December 7th, 2008 at 22:09.
FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC
Yep, you're right
Having never played without a CP it's never come up.