Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey dudes, I've always had a problem with heavy weapon teams in the imperial guard army. So everyone at my gaming group thinks the second model in the heavy weapon team (the ammo guy) is just an extra wound, and that you only need one of them to fire the weapon, so they always allocate a wound to him before other troops.
I was under the impression that a gun needs to be loaded to shoot at the enemy. I've never been able to find material that supports either arguement, and I was just reading the FAQ. I've got a game coming up and I'd really like to know, I've got a vinidicator and I'd like to shut down those weapons.
Any help is appreciated!
One guy shoots the weapon. The other guy "loads" it, but since there are no actual rules for loading a heavy weapon, that guy is just an extra wound, or just part of the rest of the squad. Thus what they're doing is perfectly legal; the gun requires only the gunner to fire it.
Loaders really arnt required... they just speed things up... a hangover from when support positions were fixed and cumbersome. well, guardlike...
However, I want to point out something more relevant - There is no Loader and Gunner. The term loader and gunner is for labelling classic models in the catalogue only. There is a two man heavy weapon team, either of which may fire the weapon - If you shot the member that fired the heavy weapon last turn, say with a vindicate assassain (that lets you, the shooter pick out specific models for wounds) the other crewman can pick it up and keep going.
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
the gunner's the only guy needed to shoot, the only time the loader matters is in when a special ability snipes the gunner, in which case it is stated in the faq that the loader takes over (the model just gets replaced with the gunner's).
and while some may argue that with the unworded hole in the clarification, you could give both guys half of the heavy weapon, stick them on opposite sides of the squad and choose which to shoot from... and that's just rather absurd and unsporting to even try to attempt in-game... unless you were going for some sort of 'voltron' motiff involving the two crewman models to come together and transform into a single whole heavy weapon.
anyways, don't know how half a gun could shoot like a whole gun, and if one half could, than both can which would either illegally put two heavy guns in your squad or horribly miff wysiwyg.
The loader can also fire a lasgun in the turn as well.
You know what kill me about this thread? The identical one 2 threads down from this one
But they all hit the nail on the head