Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I wouldnt think this is possible but nothing is the codex says otherwise. You can mount them on bikes, and replace a pistol with a plasmagun, then add a storm shield?? Since its just says add shield for x points, but doesnt seem to replace anything.
I would think a 1h weapon and shield would be ok, but how do they drive the bike...
That equipment load is legal. How they drive the bike is irrelevent under the rules (ie I don't know how they steer).
Cross-reference: Question about Command squad
Last edited by Corianis; December 29th, 2008 at 00:03. Reason: added link
Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom
So if you had a storm bolter and plasmagun you can shot both in one turn??
Only if you have 2 people riding the bike or a sidecar as is the case for attack bikes.
C: SM p140 [shooty Bike Squad rules]:
"Unit Type: Bike",
Wargear: Pistol and
Options: The usual three Assault weapons, plus HB/ MM on Attack Bikes.
There's nothing in there about Stormbolters.
Twin Bolters aren't listed in the Summary.
I guess Marine Bikes got "streamlined". X- D
I'd expect this little oversight to feature in the v5 SM FAQ . . .
v5 RB p53 [Bikes, Shooting]:
"Each bike in a Unit may fire with one weapon for every rider on the bike."
So, even if opponents grant you the twin Bolters - only one shot per Biker.
Pistol, TLB, Assault or Heavy - your choice. Stormbolter? Not so much.
Last edited by Playa; December 29th, 2008 at 01:25. Reason: stupid smileycons
Page 100 of the Space Marine Codex (The wargear entry on SM Bikes) says they have Twin-Linked Bolters. According to the rulebook, twin-linked is described as 2 of the same weapon designed to fire at the same time to increase chances to hit, therefore bikes have twin bolters.
Bottom Line, now pay attention, I'd hate to have to post this again-
1. Bikes are relentless and may fire 1 weapon per rider, and 2. the armory no longer exists
1. Means you can move, pick any of your weapons (Two for attack bikes), shoot it with no penalties for moving, and charge regardless of the weapon type you shot.
2. Means who cares, under the Dark Angles Codex a commander can have a pair of Lightning claws, a Plasma Pistol, and a Combi-Weapon. How does he do this? Irroneous, he has it, so he gets to use it. Also, the BBB (Although not as black anymore) states that you can only fire one weapon, unless you're a Monstrous Creature, or have some sort of upgrade or special rule.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
But back to the original question, if you want to pay the points, you could have a Meltagun, Flamer, Storm Shield and Twin Linked Bolters from a Veteran on a Bike in a Command Squad.
It would be versital, and survivable, but horribly expensive and ineffective, since you can only shoot 1 weapon a turn.
It really amazes me that a storm shield takes up no weapon slots. I guess I could just mount it on the bike itself. But Storm shields with feel no pain is a wicked combo. Throw in some power weapons, and you got urself a wrecking machine.
But just remember, that even though it doesn't take up a "hand," you won't get +1 attacks for having a Bolt Pistol and Power Weapon. Having a Storm Shield just puts a blanket "No" on an extra attack from 2 weapons, no matter the source.
That said, a single Lightning Claw cost the same as a Power Weapon, and since you aren't getting the extra attack, may as well pick up the re-roll to wound for the same price.