Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If I choose to 'lend' a medic (read apothecary) from my command squad to a terminator unit (I can), can he save them from a hit that has Ap1 or 2?
In the rulebook it states:
... they allow you to ignore the first failed saving throw each turn ... the narthecium may not be used on any model who has been unfortunate enough to suffer 'Instant Death' or that has been hit by a weapon that allows no save ...
But since the terminators has save against, say a lascannon, they die from a failed saving throw, and so the medic can save him. Or...? :huh:
when they say "that allows no saves" they mean weapons with an AP below the models armour save or a power weapon so basically nope can't save a termy from an AP1 type weapon
and there ya go
When cities burn and armies turn
and flee in disarray,
Cowards will cry 'tis best to fly
and fight another day,
But warriors know it in their marrow when they
die and fall,
It is better to have fought and lost than not have
fought at all.
the keeper of the stuff!
the knower of werty!
the master of the obvious!
Hrmm. <_< Not sure about that. They still use their 5+ save when failing to save. A lascannon doesn't have Ap5/invulnerable. Only Ap2 against 'normal' armour.
a power wepon is a weapon that allows no save...thats its description...invulnerable saves are a different matter, and arent counted in this equation, and thus arent counted for medic purposes
if a power weapon hits a model, and the invulnerable save dosent save him, the weapon will make a mess of him as the save now has no use, as he is wounded now anyway...
no matter what type of save you HAD, if a power weapon slices into your guts you will die...whether you had an invulnerable save before or not
Never judge someone until you've walked a mile in their shoes...by that time they'll be a mile away, and have no shoes
The IG-FAQ states that weapons with higher AP than the models save still gets to be saved by the medic. A guardsman will still get a save against a heavy bolter for example. With weapons "that allows no saves" they mean literally weapons that doesn't allow ANY save, not weapons that penetrate the save (apparently.)Originally posted by Brother-Captain Fenix@Jul 15 2004, 18:38
when they say "that allows no saves" they mean weapons with an AP below the models armour save or a power weaponÂ* so basically nope can't save a termy from an AP1 type weapon :)
and there ya go :)[snapback]182575[/snapback]
I don't know if this question is answered in the SM-faq, but I'm pretty sure it works the same. If not then why not?
Most weapons with AP2 or better has S8 or higher anyway (except plasmas?), and then they can't use the medic for that reason.
I think it specifically states armour saves, which are NOT inv. saves.
"And whoever wants to be a creator in good and evil, must first be an annihilator and break values. Thus the highest evil belongs to the greatest goodness: but this is--being creative."
~ Friedrich Nietzsche ~
But then, you cannot 'lend' your apothecary to your terminator squad since he is a character (not independent character) in the command squad, like a sergant.
Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks
A medic can save anyone that isn't instant killed or hit with a power weapon..
Shooting weapons allow saves, even if their AP is enough to bypass armor just the armor saving throw is failed. When reading rules in 40k you need to look for specifics, not generalizations like "High AP weapons dont allow saves" thats not true because if there was a 1+ armor save it would save against a lascannon, however it would not save against a power weapon because the power weapon has a SPECIFIC rule
And you can detach a medic and put him with the terminators
That sounds fair. The medic can save the termies from a plasma shot, since they 'allow armour saves', but not against a powerweapon, even that they failed their 5+ save (since it's not an armour save). So be it!
nice to see we cleared that up. its almost as tricky as the termie armour and iron halo issue.
Children in the dark cause accidents, accidents in the dark cause childen.