Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I kinda new to the IG's (only played once so far) and never used doctrines yet. If I select the Grenadiers doctrine, do I also have to use a doctrine to select storm troopers, or is that already included to the Grenadiers? Thanks.
you would need to spend 2 docterine points to use grenadiers and stormtroopers(lemme guess......you're making a stormtrooper army, right? in that case take inquisitorial stormtroopers, they are a troops choice, have acess to a rhino, and you don't need an inquisitor to take them XD
Hellhounds are good tanks
Satan - "**** you Kage! And **** you Jables! I'll get you Tenacious DDDDdddddddeeeeee!!!!!!"
No, you don't need to select the Stormtroopers Doctrine as well as the Grenadiers Doctrine in order to use Grenadiers. This is explicitly answered in the FAQ
Might be worth downloading it from the GW site, for future reference
FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC
However, if you do take the Grenadier doctorine, then you can take the Storm Trooper's doctorine for free. Seeing how you've got troops trained up to that status, it makes sense that they'd be there as well.
I'll be damned before the soldiers of the Emperor are just left to rot!
Last words of Colonel Densit from the Rahaxin 19th
"DISS NOT THE EMPEROR'S POINTED STICK, HERETIC!"
If it doesn't work with the Emperor. Then it's been officially Karmooned!!!
BEWARE THE POWER OF THE LIGHT-BRIGHT!
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
The FAQ reads weird, so I can understand the confusion.. but the original question for the FAQ is "Do I have to take the Storm Troopers doctrine to take storm troopers with the Grenadiers doctrine?" The answer to which, of course, is no.
The former gives you access to the Elite choice Storm Troopers, the latter giving you the ability to field squads as Troop choices.
just so I'm clear..
does this mean we can take 3 Storm Troopers (as elites) and in the same army take 3 Stormtroopers (as troops) if we take both doctrines?
...why play guard you ask??....one word...Baneblade!!!!
The confusion lies in the thinking that Grenadiers and Stormtroopers are the same kinds of troops. Though they have the same statline, think of Grenadiers as the elite (but troops choice in game terms) sections from a world's regiment i.e. Kasrkins from Cadia, while having actual Stormtroopers would require a commander to requisition them from off planet, unless I guess, your army was from the home planet of the Scholera Progenum or however you spell it.
I think you need to spend more time on your floor.
2500 Black Templars