Need help against the Marines - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Por'vre T'olku Shien
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

49 (x1)

Need help against the Marines

I figure this would be the best place to ask. I'm relatively new to the hobby, and loved the Tau from the moment I saw them. The problem I'm having, though, is that more than half of my local game store uses Space marines of various chapters (one starts EVERYTHING in Drop Pods and runs Vulkan, losing Fire Warriors to napalm is ironic).

Tau have no truly effective anti-MEQ gun, since in order to do anything I either have to pour ridiculous amounts of firepower into them (normal wound rate is about 10% from my troops) or use equally ridiculously overpowered guns (Plasma, Fusion, Ion Cannons/Railguns). I can only take these weapons on tanks or expensive suits (though I have switched my main army list to include more Fusion and Plasma shots), and especially in Fusion's case they have a shorter range than my beloved missile pods. My battlesuits are easier to kill than Terminators, unfortunately, so leaving them at short range is not really an option.

So, then, here's the question. How do I give these guys a good fight, especially in smaller skirmish games?

I fight for the Greater Good. Too bad for you it's MY Greater Good.

Snow Forces of T'olku W/L/D : 3-4-2... I like to think I'm learning, though.

2. Remove Advertisements

Rochester, NY
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

431 (x8)

You don't need to go nuts on plasma (though it helps), just force enough saves. FWs have a 1/9 chance of killing a marine with a Pulse Rifle, so that's a lot of shots.