Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a few IG questions that I'm sure my learned comrades in arms will know..
I'm looking to take the Doctrine Light infantry on one of my infantry platoons as I want them to be able to infliltrate from reserves. My question is about when rolling for the reserves. The codex says each platoon counts as a single Troop choice and that it is rolled collectively when rolling for reserves - so I gather that means I make one dice roll for the whole infantry platoon (comand squad and 4 squads) to see if they are coming on the table that turn - but after that do I only roll once for what table side they come on - or once for each squad and command squad within the infantry platoon?
With the changes to the morale rules in the new edition it looks to me that we don't have modifiers on morale rolls in close combat other than the modifier for each unsaved wounds in close combat adding a -1 to the Ld roll, so does that mean Doctrineie-Hard doesn't do anything anymore? (Die hard allows the unit to ignore negative morale modifiers for being outnumbered in close combat)
When regrouping the rule book says a unit cannot regroup if for example the unit is below half strength. I gather if the leader of the unit had Doctrine Iron Dsicipline they could attempt to regroup - but what if they don't? Is there anyway for a unit below half strength to regroup other than iron discipline? Does the regrouping rules only apply to that unit - could another officer in another unit (who say didn't have iron discipline) but was within 12 inches (or over Vox) attempt to regroup the first unit? Or are they just going to keep falling back until they run off the board?
...why play guard you ask??....one word...Baneblade!!!!
For the first question, there's no answer. It's not in the FAQ and there was nothing even resembling a mechanic like that back then, it just didn't have it in mind.
Yes, die-hards does nothing now
As for iron discipline, if they fail to regroup, they fall back. If they're still in range of an officer with iron discipline at the beginning of your next turn, they can try to regroup again.
Last edited by Certs; January 13th, 2009 at 15:47.
only 2 ways that i know of for squads below 50% to regroup are iron d and atsknf.
For the rules evidence, It's where the reserves roll is done for EACH UNIT - a 10 man line squad of troopers is a different unit than the 5 man command squad (or line unit 2) that they came with, so they all roll seperately.
* Note - This wasn't the case in 4th ed for rolling to come in from reserves (for example drop troops deep striking in) - or when you deployed a unit (e.g. a light infantry platoon on command & line squads) - old deployment was done by force Organisation Chart, (heavy first, etc etc) so one troop choice - being a command squad and multiple line squads - deployed together. I digress however.
In short: The definition of Unit and wording for deployment has changed subtly between 4th and 5th. every squad, even if purchased seperately under the force Organisation Chart is a seperate unit.
*Note 2 - Transport units, even dedicated are different units. so if you're limited to deploying 2 troop and 1 HQ units in a battle, they're without transports, or take up a deployment (E.G. ork squad in trukk = 2 troop units, not 1. worth remembering vs orks / Dark Eldar / mechanised armies)
ATSKNF - And They Shall Know No Fear = It's a space Marine Special Rule that allows them to automatically rally at the beginning of the movement phase. no dice, no arguing they just do.
2) Nope. It's useless.
It's a bit like giving a fearless unit a trademark item (Well, it will affect the game - if he dies your own men have to take a immediate LD test. That's right players, pay for that item.)
3) For IG you have Iron discipline and that's it.
p.s. You can only attempt one rally per unit per turn - if your first officer with iron discipline failed to rally a unit you can't try again with someone else. (You can use that officer on a different unit though) He doesn't give the unit the ability - he has it. (You use his LD, and he's the one making the test so it being on him is important. You couldn't for example use the units own LD, even if it was better, to rally at under 1/2 strength. It's his LD - If reduced, or next to a commisar who'll shoot him if he fails, It's his LD used. (and if with attached commisar he gets shot if failed BTW.))
*Note - I also will point out here that standard Vox's can only communicate between one squad per turn - your command squad with a vox can only affect one unit (Outside his 12" bubble) per turn unless you pay the extra for a Master Vox.
Last edited by stayscrunchyinmilk; January 13th, 2009 at 12:43.
Actually, my earlier answer was wrong. (ref. statement under my username to the left)
Each Platoon is rolled for collectively in regards to reserves.
though the command platoon is technically still the only one that can deploy entirely during dawn of war set-up, due to 5th ed going by units instead of choices and the poorwording context from the codex.
codex trumps rulebook.
command platoon "A Command Platoon counts as a single unit for army selection, deployment, and reserves purposes. However, each sub-unit may deploy or arrive in a different location and act independently." p39
infantry platoon "Each platoon counts as a single Troop choice on the Force Organisation chart when deploying, and is rolled for collectively when rolling for reserves. Otherwise they function as independent units." p44
heavy weapons platoon "Each platoon counts as a single Heavy Support choice on the Force Organisation chart when deploying, and is rolled for collectively when rolling for reserves. Otherwise they function as independent units." p48
it is a little annoying that GW never bothered cleaned this wording with 5th ed's release as i'm sure it was intended that all three platoons function the same.
Stayscrunchy, your latest interpretation is correct. Roll all together for reserves as stated then the other bit comes in. They act as different untis for everything else, It wasn't thought of all those years ago that such a subtle change woudl be made so that seems the best option.
Also when you say he gets shot for a unit failing it's LD test with the officers LD you are wrong there as well Im afraid, it is the leader of the squad failing that is shot and then only if the commisar is with them. ie. he is not the one taking the test, the unit is. it is his leadership being used though. (otherwise he would technically have to run away with the unit every time as well!)
The fact that the officer can inspire his men and try not to get them to leave is different here. Think of his leadership being used as more of a courage gained by looking at him than physically him yelling at them and it makes a little more sense!
Hope that helps