Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
As my training as a Cadet-Commissar apparently was a bit lacking (Wait, that's heresy! -prepares to Summary Execute himself-) I'm a bit confused on how the Summary Execution ability works. I pose this situation to my fellow Imperial Officers;
Let's say we have Squad A with Commissar A and Squad B with Commissar B. Both Commissars are Independent, as the army has taken the Independent Commissars Doctrine. Both squads come under heavy enemy fire and fail their Morale Checks. Of course, doing their Sacred Duty, the Commissars execute the squads Sergeants for cowardice. Now, let us say Commissar A leaves Squad A and joins Squad B; and Commissar B leaves Squad B and joins Squad A.
Could each Commissar use his Summary Execution ability with their new squad, even though neither Squad has a Sergeant leading it? Could they even leave the squads, considering the IG Codex says, "The unit in question is assumed to have passed the Morale test after all and continues to fight under the leadership of the Commissar."
I thank you for the answers and will see you at the side of the Golden Throne in due time!
If there are no Seargents, they take out one guy and take over.
"Hard pounding, gentlemen: but we shall see who can pound the longest."
Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington
question: since we can join characters together in uber-squads now...what happens if an all-commissar squad fails a morale check?
You know what's funny! My brother played in a game against the guards in which they had to eliminate the opponents HQ. His opponent got some uber-character HQ which cost about 200pts or something for just that 1 guy alone (special character from the older codexes) and added a commisar to the unit.
Well there came a situation in which he needed to take a morale test. His opponent was thinking no prob...my guy's got LD 10. He fails. Then his opp. says...still no prob, I get to re-roll my morale. He fails again. BAMMM! Comissar executes him. Game over. HAHA!
So, in theory, the two Commissars can keep bouncing between the two squads, executing rank and file Guardsmen to keep the two squads from breaking as long as their are Guardsmen remaining in the squads?
Or do they even really have to leave the squads? Can the Commissar always execute a Guardsmen to keep a squad from breaking?
Can you believe that there are people out there claiming that an independent commissar can't use his summary execution ability on a conscript platoon because their entry doesn't mention them having sergeants??? Some people's children....
Anyway, yes, summary execution works even if there is no sergeant present. What I wonder about is the commie's ability to leave the squad after having used the summary execution power. I thought he was stuck with them from that point on (not that I've ever had reason for him to leave the squad...)
IG since 1999 __ DA since 2002 __ Tau since 2005 __ SoB since 2007
Brets 1997-1999 __ TK since 2009 __ Empire since 2010
The FAQ says that if there is no leader he just shoots one and they pass the Ld test.
This has led us to play where the Independent Commissar does not take over the squad but will just keep executing, making a kinda-fearless unit.