Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I would like to know if you can place a Vindicare Assassin in a Space Marine army in a normal setting map and without any scenario.
Yes it would be possible for you to field a Vindicare in a Space Marine force. You will need to look at the Daemonhunters codex for the full rules and such, but as long as you fill the compulsary choices with your Space Marines, you can use a certain amount of Daemonhunters. I think its 0-1 of each HQ, Elite, Fast Attack, and 0-2 Troops.
Check out Double Edged Painting blog for more information on commissions and work in progress
If I remember correctly according to the witch and demon hunter codices assassins can ony be taken if an inquisitor is in the army, therefore you need inquisition allies in your marine force. BUT if you and your opponent are playing for fun why the hell shouldn't you have one on it's own. 5th ed (and apocalypse) seems to be trying to encourage people to have fun games like we had in the old days when we made up our own scenarios with rules to go with them, rather than the ultra competitive style that has become increasingly dominant over the last few years. I have probably upset some people with this, but who cares it's only a game.
Normaly you need an inquisitor in your force to use an assassin, so this means that you either you need to use an elite and an hq choice on an inquisitor lord and an assassin. Or you need to use 2 elite choices on an inquisitor and an assassin one being from the WH codex, and the other from the DH codex.
In a friendly game you could just use the assassin if your opponent lets you.
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
Pretty much what Kevin said, however in the WH codex, it states that when taking WH as allies you can only have 0-1 elites from the WH list, so if you want a Vindicare, you need to include a HQ inquisitor lord. There is a silver lining though...Forgeworld has a really cool looking inquisitor model coming out soon!
As said, the only way for you to be able to legally field an assassin is if you take an inquisitor lord from the same codex, either demon hunters or witch hunters
The only constant in the universe is change, adapt or die.
Don't bother with the Vindicare. They may seem cool, but they're not worth it in the sense that they usually don't make back their points. Instead get a Callidus (ranked #1) or Eversore (#2) instead. Of course, to make your army legal, you also need to spend one of your HQ slots to pick up an Inquisitor (from either DH or WH codices).
agreed the callidus is a ton more usefull...though the vidicar can be fun as well in apoc games to play with
For Michigan Apoc news and meetups.. www.mi40k.com
Thank you for all the informations, exactly what I needed to know.
or you could just hook up with telion. he's basically just the same as the vindicare assassin, so if you have some scouts, why not go for it?
although i have to say the eversor is a beast! shame that you cant consolidate into units anymore :c